Hot Water Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I finally learned how to prepare these! They were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASSIE811

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
These corncakes are very yummy. I like the level of salt-flavor, but I would like them a little sweeter, so next time I'll add more sugar. I did fry them too long. By the time they're really golden, they're too crispy on the outside to cut easily. I can't wait to make them again and not overcook them. They are delicious and I love the taste of them with real maple syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Out of 8 people, 6 loved it, one said it was ok, and one did not like it. I liked it, but it was a little bit too salty. I fried it in bacon grease, so I think that upped the salt a little bit. I was wanting a recipe that duplicated one my grandmother use to make, this is not it, but close. I will add some garlic and onion powder, and maybe some other things and try again. Good base recipe, adjust to your taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrison, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Agra, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I found this recipe when I needed a bread to have with dinner, but didn't have much on hand. This recipe saved the day! I've never had cornbread "fried". Hubby & kids all thought is was absolutely wonderful! We ate it with butter, but the kids had to try it with butter and syrup. WOW! I just can't say enough how wonderful this tastes for such a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I cut down on the salt and diced some onions gave it a good taste also. Thx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Great recipe! I think I used polenta (on hand) instead of corn meal. I also cut the salt and doubled the sugar. I didn't use oil to fry it in, but vegetable spray. It fell apart but for my first try, it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I thought this was pretty good. I had never eaten this type of cornbread before so wasn't sure how it should taste. The people I served it to were dying to taste some because their Mom had always made it for them as children and they loved it. They thought it was good but just not as fluffy as their childhood version their Mom made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Yummy! I am on a special diet (Daniel's fast) where I cannot eat many of the things you would normally put in breads so I was excited to find this recipe. I modified this to omit the sugar and shortening and cooked in olive oil. I dipped it in honey and it was very delicious - my whole family loved it! I agree with other reviewer that there is no difference with or without shortening so you might as well save the fat (I did try both ways). I also tried cooking the cornbread in 1/2" canola oil the first time and 1/8" olive the second time I made it and it tasted the same so again you can save calories. I will use this recipe over and over again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Growing up in East Texas, I was raised on this type of corn bread. The only changes that I have is add 1 cup of flour to the mix, and no sugar, but then again we eat them plain, no butter or syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I wasn't a fan of these little cakes, but my husband and son really liked them. (I thought the cakes were somewhat bland.) My son is allergic to dairy and eggs, so this was a great recipe for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States