Hot Water Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Very good cornbread. Easy to prepare and does not take long to cook. I used olive oil the first two times and vegetable oil the last time. Olive oil tasted better to me, but as a novice cook I found the oil had a more narrow cooking temperature range because it would spike in temp pretty quickly if not carefull. I stood over it and the first pop took it off the eye and turned the eye off and it got even hotter it seemed. Splattered everywhere. With the vegetable oil I never had that even begin to get too hot. I think olive oil has a lower flashpoint and as a result a much norrower cooking range for the cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Troy, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This is good and easy. To make this though I must be in the mood to deal wtih leftover oil. I added a dash more salt because I didn't intend on eating with honey or syrup - just plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Unionville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Just like Momma used to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeri Bolin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Duncanville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I used a hand milled locally purchased cornmeal...fantastic texture. Used shortening and bacon grease, I think it really did something good for the flavor. Topped it with a dab of real butter and some local, organic buckwheat honey. OMG it was so good! Hubby kept asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
YUMMY! Thank you for posting this recipe! My gluten free family of 8 all enjoyed these and they are inexpensive & quick. PLUS I've made these and rolled them in cinnamon and sugar for a doughnut like treat...the kids love them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.Bressi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Love this recipe!!! Added minced onion really enhanced the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Good recipe. We had it as a side to a bowl of simple brown rice and kidney beans. Because of previous reviews i decided to increse the serving size to more then i needed. I increased it to 20 and i ended up with 16. It would not form "little cakes" so i just dropped it in the oil right off a spoon. I was also out of salt so i just used the sugar and i spread salted butter on the top, and they came out very good. Even my little sister who will eat almost nothing except pizza liked them! Oh and i used butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. I did add self-rising flour 1/4 cup, cut salt to 1/2 tsp. also for everyones benefit if you wet your hands prior to rolling your patties out or corn balls they will not stick to your hands. I also used cocoanut oil for frying. Suppose to be healthier for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Great recipe! Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIM ROSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
For some reason, mine fell apart :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States