Hot Water Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Just tried it! Reminds me of the fried corn bread my mom used to make. We do not put syrup on them though, we slice length wise and spread a little butter on them . Came out very tasty! Next time I might try chopped onion and some chopped chili's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I modified the recipe and used Tony's Seasoning instead of salt and butter instead of shorting and I fried them in bacon grease in a black iron skillet. These are the best! You have an awesome recipe, that is easily modified to a person's healthy diet (ie, no salt) or taste (ie, sweet or no sweet.). Thank you for taking the time to post this. I appreciate you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dodson, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is my base recipe for hot water cornbread. Love the recipe only I don't use sugar. Took tip from other reviewer after first batch and cut back salt by half and they came out perfect. Excellent with some fresh greens or sauteed squash. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Pretty good. I read others reviews and only used 1/2 teaspoon salt and about 1 1/2 teaspoon sugar. I didn't use 1/2 inch oil ...i used less and after i removed them from the oil and let them set for about 2 minutes...i drizzled them with honey...so good...it didn't make 12 "cakes"...just 9 really small ones...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I love hotwater cornbread! The first time I made it was with my father about 5-6 years ago. I wanted to follow the recipe but I did not have any shortening. So I used 2 TBSP of Butter instead, came out perfect. I made green beans and smoked turkey with my slow cooker, my dinner was yum. Check out my reviews for Slow cooker green beans. Try them with the hotwater cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I made these tonight using butter instead of shortening. If you use salted butter, you may want to cut out or severely decrease the salt. They were the consistency and basic taste that I wanted, but just too salty. I'll be making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
It was okay...just not how i prefer it to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Very good cornbread. Easy to prepare and does not take long to cook. I used olive oil the first two times and vegetable oil the last time. Olive oil tasted better to me, but as a novice cook I found the oil had a more narrow cooking temperature range because it would spike in temp pretty quickly if not carefull. I stood over it and the first pop took it off the eye and turned the eye off and it got even hotter it seemed. Splattered everywhere. With the vegetable oil I never had that even begin to get too hot. I think olive oil has a lower flashpoint and as a result a much norrower cooking range for the cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Troy, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This is good and easy. To make this though I must be in the mood to deal wtih leftover oil. I added a dash more salt because I didn't intend on eating with honey or syrup - just plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Unionville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Just like Momma used to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeri Bolin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Duncanville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States