Hot Water Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Love this recipe! Don"t add salt if using self_rising cornmeal thats why folks are saying its too salty I make tablespoon size patties and they fry up nice told my grandsons they were hotcakes and put syrup on them! they ate them up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I loved that I could serve my daughter with an egg allergy cornbread but it came out too crispy for our taste. Maybe I cooked it too long but otherwise not too bad with some pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I made it exactly as the directions stated. Gritty & flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlyMcSparkles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Our family loves Hot Water Corn Bread plain with soups instead of crackers. It's delicious. Never made it with sugar or ate them with syrup. We eat fried grits (what my mother called Fried Mush) with syrup so that would be about the same flavors. Very good. She put left over grits in a square tupperware container and refrigerated. When set she would slice them and fry in butter and drizzle syrup on them. Both being made from corn would have the same delicious flavors..will have to try sometime if we ever have any left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
We loved the recipe. I added jalapenos and onions to the recipe and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Loved the recipe !!! But I substitute the shortening for butter Didn't need all The oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
It was super easy! I did not add as much salt to it like the other suggested, and just oiled the pan. Great recipe will make again.;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherealove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Just tried it! Reminds me of the fried corn bread my mom used to make. We do not put syrup on them though, we slice length wise and spread a little butter on them . Came out very tasty! Next time I might try chopped onion and some chopped chili's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I modified the recipe and used Tony's Seasoning instead of salt and butter instead of shorting and I fried them in bacon grease in a black iron skillet. These are the best! You have an awesome recipe, that is easily modified to a person's healthy diet (ie, no salt) or taste (ie, sweet or no sweet.). Thank you for taking the time to post this. I appreciate you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dodson, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is my base recipe for hot water cornbread. Love the recipe only I don't use sugar. Took tip from other reviewer after first batch and cut back salt by half and they came out perfect. Excellent with some fresh greens or sauteed squash. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States