Hot Water Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Very simple and quick! I used organic coconut oil instead of shortening and also fried it in coconut oil. I used celtic sea salt instead of regular salt. Turned out delicious! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural Mystic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veronica Dunlap-Oliver
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I like the recipe. It's quick and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Very delicious, but only use a sprinkling of salt to your taste. D. Chatman
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Simply the best! I have never had a hot water cornbread recipe that I would use more than once. This recipe has become the one for me, finally. I made adjustments to suit my taste. Reduced hot water by 2 tablespoons, thus adding 2 tablespoons of coconut milk, used corn oil instead of shortening, also slightly increased corn meal. I am happy!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I have spent a lot of time searching for this recipe ad should have known to look here first! Really like this easy recipe which gives excellent results. Thank you for having all of the recipes avalable without a lot delving through files and being asked to "free download".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Much too salty...I tried it again substituting salted butter for the shortening, and omitting the salt...much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faye Whiddon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I didn't use cornbread mix. I used plain corn meal Cornbread mix has salt and flour in it. I also cut back on the water just a little and use milk. It helps it brown when not using sugar. I also add bacon grease to fry it in as it gives it the flavor I was used to growing up. My mother in law used to fry these in bacon grease only. She would butter them the minute they come out of the skillet and let the butter melt on the hot cornbread. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
it ain't my grandmothers but it's very easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Love this recipe! Don"t add salt if using self_rising cornmeal thats why folks are saying its too salty I make tablespoon size patties and they fry up nice told my grandsons they were hotcakes and put syrup on them! they ate them up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States