Hot Water Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Perfect! I use this recipe when I want to make a ganache frosting. It's quick, easy and makes a cake thick enough to pick up from the bottom without falling apart. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This is a great, moist cake! I believe this is the chocolate cake my mother used to make us when I was little as I remember her boiling water for the cake and the taste is similar. I actually made CUPCAKES out of this recipe. Wow, they were awesome! Very moist, yet firm enough to hold up to mounds of buttercream frosting with sprinkles. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pkayemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I've used this recipe since the early 70s..we love it as does everyone who tastes it. At times I have added a thin layer of mini marshmallows to top of cake as it comes from the oven. Place back in over for a few minutes until the marshmallows puff up. Remove from oven and drizzle warm chocolate frosting over entire surface. Ummmmm, Yummmy..did you say: Mississippi Mud Cake? Yep, I did!! Just plain good eatin'...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
THIS is the exact recipe my Texas grandmother passed down to my Mom. It was my ultimate favorite cake, growing up. It is very similar to the "Mexican chocolate cake" on this site, except for the stovetop work. This cake is awesome and moist and delicious! My grandmother's recipe also included a pour-over frosting: melt 1 stick margarine with 6 tablespoons of milk and about 1/4 cup cocoa in a saucepan until it boils, then remove from heat. Beat in powdered sugar (about 4 cups, but I never measure) and 1 tablespoon of vanilla. Pour over warm cake. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I had never made a cake like this and was a little leary, but I followed the directions,[also used regular milk] and was very impressed.This cake is soooo moist and it rose very well. I topped it with p.butter icing [hubby does not like chocolat icing.weird I know] and it is wonderful. This cake does not even need icing. A wonderful light chocolate flavor. Thanks for the receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This cake is soooo moist it almost falls apart in your hands. Everyone loved this recipe so much, a day after it was all gone, I was asked to make it again. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jeddah, Makkah, Saudi Arabia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
this is the exact recipe that my oklahoma mother used and was her chocolate cake of choice. Mom was an army wife and I can say this is time tested through the us and europe. never heard anyone complained they were do busy getting the next bite. fantastic cake. marshall 918
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Moist and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Took five extra minutes to cook but this cake has great flavor! Also, used a heaping 1/4 cup cocoa for flavor punch. I usually add a bit of instant coffee to most chocolate cakes/brownies I make and I did to this one too - about 1-1/2 tsp. Really does a lot to intensify the chocolate flavor. Iced with a cocoa/butter flavor crisco icing and was really really good. I make a similar cake that calls for two sticks of butter - obviously that one is a bit more decadent. The texture on this one was a bit more "fluffy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Everyone loved it; iced with icing recipe from previous reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chama, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States