Hot Water Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
THIS is the exact recipe my Texas grandmother passed down to my Mom. It was my ultimate favorite cake, growing up. It is very similar to the "Mexican chocolate cake" on this site, except for the stovetop work. This cake is awesome and moist and delicious! My grandmother's recipe also included a pour-over frosting: melt 1 stick margarine with 6 tablespoons of milk and about 1/4 cup cocoa in a saucepan until it boils, then remove from heat. Beat in powdered sugar (about 4 cups, but I never measure) and 1 tablespoon of vanilla. Pour over warm cake. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Took five extra minutes to cook but this cake has great flavor! Also, used a heaping 1/4 cup cocoa for flavor punch. I usually add a bit of instant coffee to most chocolate cakes/brownies I make and I did to this one too - about 1-1/2 tsp. Really does a lot to intensify the chocolate flavor. Iced with a cocoa/butter flavor crisco icing and was really really good. I make a similar cake that calls for two sticks of butter - obviously that one is a bit more decadent. The texture on this one was a bit more "fluffy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I've used this recipe since the early 70s..we love it as does everyone who tastes it. At times I have added a thin layer of mini marshmallows to top of cake as it comes from the oven. Place back in over for a few minutes until the marshmallows puff up. Remove from oven and drizzle warm chocolate frosting over entire surface. Ummmmm, Yummmy..did you say: Mississippi Mud Cake? Yep, I did!! Just plain good eatin'...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Yum! This cake was a very spur-of-the moment cake, and I picked this recipe simply because it was the first well-rated recipe that I had all the ingredients for. I halved the recipe, used margarine instead of butter, and at least doubled the cocoa powder. I also added about a cup of mini chocolate chips, and I'm glad I did, because the cake itself didn't have a very strong chocolate taste to it. It took about 40 minutes to bake in a 8x8" glass pan. I melted together about 1/4 cup butter, 1/3 cup chocolate chips, vanilla, and 1/3 cup milk to make a frosting, and after I pulled the cake out of the oven I poked holes in the top and spread the frosting over. I served it piping hot to an impromtu group of people, and it recieved wonderful reviews; someone even said it was the best chocolate cake they'd ever had. I think a lot of the wonder of the cake was in the fact that it was warm, which really wins desserts a lot of points for most people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
this cake is AWESOME! i use 1 cup of strong coffee instead of the water and the flavor is wonderful. =) SUPER good with just a simple glaze made of out powdered sugar, milk, vanilla, and a little butter. (best with sprinkles ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederic, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
this is the exact recipe that my oklahoma mother used and was her chocolate cake of choice. Mom was an army wife and I can say this is time tested through the us and europe. never heard anyone complained they were do busy getting the next bite. fantastic cake. marshall 918
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Perfect! I use this recipe when I want to make a ganache frosting. It's quick, easy and makes a cake thick enough to pick up from the bottom without falling apart. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I had never made a cake like this and was a little leary, but I followed the directions,[also used regular milk] and was very impressed.This cake is soooo moist and it rose very well. I topped it with p.butter icing [hubby does not like chocolat icing.weird I know] and it is wonderful. This cake does not even need icing. A wonderful light chocolate flavor. Thanks for the receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
i was a bit worried about making this cake because of one of the reviews,i was pleasantly surprised.i halved all the ingredients as i did not want to make so much.i am also on a restricted diet so i did not use butter and just used some veg oil.instead of butter milk i used soya milk with some cider vinegar mixed together.it turned out so moist and tasty.lovely cake and my whole family are racing through it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I would have to say that this cake lacked a little bit of flavor. There didn't seem to be enough chocolate. My kids said it was ok but they prefer another one that I make. I did use a bundt pan and baked it for 38 minutes. UPDATE: Unfortunately my kids and I didn't even want to have any more of this cake and it went down the disposal. Sorry but I have to change my rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States