Hot Water Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This cake is excellent. Doubled the recipe (followed it exactly) so I used a 12 x 9 disposable pan and cooked for 45 minutes at 350 degrees. Had a little batter left so I also made 6 awesome cupcakes. (They became the samplers) Made the butter and powdered sugar with cocoa powder frosting that someone else had suggested. Everyone loved it!!! Warning-this cake is so good you are likely to go back for that second piece that you don't really need!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idleyld Park, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Excellent recipe! With the exception of decreasing the sugar to 1 1/2 cups I followed the recipe as written. No need to use a mixer..a whisk suffices. I followed dreamsweets recipe for the frosting..another simple delicious recipe. Thank you Terrilee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
this cake is AWESOME! i use 1 cup of strong coffee instead of the water and the flavor is wonderful. =) SUPER good with just a simple glaze made of out powdered sugar, milk, vanilla, and a little butter. (best with sprinkles ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederic, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Seriously the best cake I've ever made. I made it into cupcakes. Awesome. Cant's enough good. The only thing is I didn't have buttermilk so I used Greek yogurt. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
well, I made this cake and it turned out tough, not nearly chocolately enough. I followed the directions exactly and made no substitutes. I did bake in 2 round cake pans but less time.....not impressed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This is a great, moist cake! I believe this is the chocolate cake my mother used to make us when I was little as I remember her boiling water for the cake and the taste is similar. I actually made CUPCAKES out of this recipe. Wow, they were awesome! Very moist, yet firm enough to hold up to mounds of buttercream frosting with sprinkles. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pkayemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Yum! This cake was a very spur-of-the moment cake, and I picked this recipe simply because it was the first well-rated recipe that I had all the ingredients for. I halved the recipe, used margarine instead of butter, and at least doubled the cocoa powder. I also added about a cup of mini chocolate chips, and I'm glad I did, because the cake itself didn't have a very strong chocolate taste to it. It took about 40 minutes to bake in a 8x8" glass pan. I melted together about 1/4 cup butter, 1/3 cup chocolate chips, vanilla, and 1/3 cup milk to make a frosting, and after I pulled the cake out of the oven I poked holes in the top and spread the frosting over. I served it piping hot to an impromtu group of people, and it recieved wonderful reviews; someone even said it was the best chocolate cake they'd ever had. I think a lot of the wonder of the cake was in the fact that it was warm, which really wins desserts a lot of points for most people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Took five extra minutes to cook but this cake has great flavor! Also, used a heaping 1/4 cup cocoa for flavor punch. I usually add a bit of instant coffee to most chocolate cakes/brownies I make and I did to this one too - about 1-1/2 tsp. Really does a lot to intensify the chocolate flavor. Iced with a cocoa/butter flavor crisco icing and was really really good. I make a similar cake that calls for two sticks of butter - obviously that one is a bit more decadent. The texture on this one was a bit more "fluffy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
i was a bit worried about making this cake because of one of the reviews,i was pleasantly surprised.i halved all the ingredients as i did not want to make so much.i am also on a restricted diet so i did not use butter and just used some veg oil.instead of butter milk i used soya milk with some cider vinegar mixed together.it turned out so moist and tasty.lovely cake and my whole family are racing through it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Moist and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States