Hot Vanilla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
What a great way to start off the fall season! I love hot chocolate so why not try hot vanilla! I used 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon and added 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg as I love the two paired together. All it needed was a little dollup of lite Cool Whip and oh what a treat! Next time instead of the cinnamon and nutmeg I might try pumpkin pie spice to see what that tastes like....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Delicious, next time I will use half the cinnamon, it's a bit too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This was very tasty, even using skim milk and a cheap artificial vanilla extract. I found the texture of the undissolvable cinnamon to be weird, so I would consider using cinnamon candies / cinnamon extract next time to get that taste. Otherwise, the flavour of this drink is excellent, and the proportions are perfect. Thanks for the good idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This recipe was amazing! I love vanilla flavors so when I found this I was very happy. I did however make a couple of small changes. Just as people said prviously cut down on the cinnamon. What made this recipe a five star for me was no cinnamon at all. It has a wonderful flavor on its own. If you have ever had a Vanilla créme from Starbucks you will love this because you can control how sweet it is or isn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Latrenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pink
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This was very nice. This is a great fall drink! I halved the cinnamon, but it all just seemed to float to the top. Next time I will soak a cinnamon stick in it to get the flavor. Try this..add a touch of cream to the milk and use a milk frother to make it nice and creamy! YUM! I just use my cappuccino maker. It has a separate compartment to put your milk in and it froths it as it pours into your cup. Add some spiced rum for a kick! Or my personal favorite, amaretto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Oh wow, sooo good. The perfect comfort drink. Suggestion: if you are using soy milk, add an extra teaspoon of sugar. Changes I made: I only put in 1/2 tsp cinnamon so I could taste the vanilla more. About the "slimey cinnamon"- I didn't encounter that problem. I mixed the cinnamon and sugar in the bottom of the mug first, then used the vanilla to dissolve it. Add the milk last. When you take it of the microwave, stir vigoursly (sp?) and it's fine. Thanks for the post, definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
it was good but gave me a huge stomach ache from just a few sips..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAMARIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
As written, cinnamon and vanilla overkill. A sprinkling of cinnamon sugar and a few drops of vanilla, on the other hand, was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Mmmm....mmmm....good. I didnt really follow the recipe. I put honey in it for the sweetner, I put a little nutmeg and some pumpkin pie spice in it too. I love the basic idea of this recipe. I can fix it to my liking. My husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIDI4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Very bland and the cinnamon just floated on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States