Hot Vanilla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This recipe was very good. I tripled the recipe and cooked it over the stove. After reading other reviews about the cinnamon not dissolving, I took others advice and mixed it with the sugar, first. Then I whisked it into the milk. But most of it still settled on the bottom. It still tasted good, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie&Pablo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
As written, cinnamon and vanilla overkill. A sprinkling of cinnamon sugar and a few drops of vanilla, on the other hand, was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
What a great way to start off the fall season! I love hot chocolate so why not try hot vanilla! I used 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon and added 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg as I love the two paired together. All it needed was a little dollup of lite Cool Whip and oh what a treat! Next time instead of the cinnamon and nutmeg I might try pumpkin pie spice to see what that tastes like....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I used skim milk and Splenda sugar substitute. Heaven in a mug. Really relaxed me right before bed. I think I might use a combination of nutmeg and cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I just sprinkled the top with cinnamon when I finished microwaving it. That way you get to smell the cinnamon with every sip, but no real "floaties." It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
As is, I'll rate this as a 3 star recipe. Next time I will follow some of the reviews and mix the sugar and cinnamon first, then the vanilla, and finally the milk. I will also add another tsp of sugar, as it wasn't quite sweet enough for my taste. Still, a good starter recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Great bedtime treat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eulia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I read the other reviews and decided to use a cinnamon stick instead of the ground cinnamon. I also used skim milk and Splenda. Not a bad hot drink for right before bed, especially since coffee, chocolate, and Earl Grey tea interfere with my ability to sleep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is so yummy!!! I use skim milk instead of 2%, and instead of sugar, i used the splenda sugar blend. It' still sweet enough. I also started using a cinnamon stick vs. ground cinnamon b/c the ground cinnamon kept floating to the top and getting chunky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coler624

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Proportions taste good, but I couldn't dissolve that cinnamon, even with a drink frother (adds a nice frothy top!). **UPDATE** I now make it with Lactaid milk, 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States