Hot Vanilla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I have never heard of this and happened across the recipe by accident. The kids had about 20 minutes until the bus came on our coldest day of the winter and this was a nice surprise. I hate that I only had one tsp of vanilla left though they still enjoyed sharing the cup. I went with some of the reviews saying to cut the cin. to 1/2 tsp and add 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and it was enjoyable. Thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gautier, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Vancleave, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I gave up chocolate & coffee for Lent. This recipe was a wonderful find! I substituted a cinnamon stick and heated it on the stove. It was too sweet for my taste so I added another cup of milk. I will fix this again using these changes (and possibly substituting a bag of spiced black tea for the cinnamon.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I've been making something similar to this for about 20 years, but I always used vanilla syrup (like you use in coffee) and a sprinkle of nutmeg. I decided to give this a try, but the cinnamon is just too much for me. And I absolutely love vanilla, but cutting back to 1 teaspoon would be enough for me in this. Vanilla sugar would probably work well, but I didn't care for the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I have been making this for years.It reminds me of rice pudding. I only use a sprinkling of cinnamon on top instead of a whole teaspoon and use 1tsp of vanilla instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This didnt work out for me, but it was kind of good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Really great, but next time I'll definitely use less cinnamon. It was way overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
i tried heating it up before putting in the cinnamon then i stirred in the cinnamon after and there was less cinnamon floating on the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deana Swartz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This recipe was amazing, though I didn't really follow it. Instead of using 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract, I only used one, and I had almost 1 1/4 cups of milk. I completely omitted the cinnamon, and yet it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
i made this for my sister she loved it but i thought it was too gross to drink so I threw it away. it had too much cinnamon and it was all floating on the top so it tasted funny. I will never cook this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I'm sorry, I REALLY wanted to like this. Even mixing the cinnamon and sugar together resulted in TOO much cinnamon floating on top (and I like cinnamon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States