Hot Vanilla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
i just made this, and it is very good. however, there is too much cinnamon. i'd cut it to 1/2 or even 1/4 tsp of cinnamon. i used soy milk, and added an extra tsp of sugar, as someone suggested. i also mixed the cinnamon and sugar together, dissolved it in vanilla, and THEN added the [soy]milk, which minimized bits of cinnamon floating on top. i also added a little chunk of semisweet chocolate, for a kick. it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This was very tasty! I used vanilla soy milk and the drink was warm, comforting and delicious. I am not a milk drinker but this could change my mind. It's perfect for the holiday season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Mmmm....mmmm....good. I didnt really follow the recipe. I put honey in it for the sweetner, I put a little nutmeg and some pumpkin pie spice in it too. I love the basic idea of this recipe. I can fix it to my liking. My husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIDI4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
very good! - perfect for a warm night at home - i found my new favorite drink! thanks for the recipe, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I hate giving a recipe a bad review but this just didn't do it for me. It had way too much cinnamon & vanilla and not enough sugar. I guess I was expecting a warmed up version of my riceless horchata which uses all of these same ingredients in different quantities, but served cold. Even after thinning this out twice with more milk it was still overwhelming for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I always thought that hot chocolate was all way too ...well...chocolatie..I love the hot vanilla! I'm hooked!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chowchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I used the basic idea and adjusted the sugar and cinnamon to my taste. Good to have in the cold weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Okay, this was a neat alternative to warm milk that i usually drink before bed. the only problem was, I think the amount of sugar (you figure the vanilla extract is sweet too!) in the drink kept me awake at night! and 1 tsp. of cinnamon is an awful lot for one mug of milk, so next time i will cut the cinnamon/sugar mixture in half. and i will also do what another reviewer did, put the cinnamon/sugar mix at the bottom, use the vanilla to dissolve it, then add the milk. Because my cinnamon didn't really dissolve and did get a bit "slimey". Overall though, a tasty drink, it tastes similar to a spice latte at Starbucks, without the hefty price tag! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I'm a poor little college student with a cold and I needed a little pick-me-up. This was perfect! I'll definitely make it again, maybe try some nutmeg and stir the cinnamon more before I put it into the milk. All around yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Byron, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
It was quick and easy to make and tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Ivonne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States