Hot Vanilla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
The cinnamon is a bit overpowering so I'd recommend cutting back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Goes very well with Irish cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cameo
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
yummy! this tastes just like steamers i order from coffee shops. My 4 year old enjoyed this too. thanks. Oh and i always use a cinnamon stick, so i dont get the cinnamon floters.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cameo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This recipe is similar to "Milky Tea" and "Mom's Warm Milk" which are on this website too. But, HOT VANILLA is my FAVORITE!!!! I used 1% milk, 1 packet of Splenda, and vanilla and cinnamon to taste. The first time, I did not mix the Splenda and cinnamon so the cinnamon floated to the top and was chunky. The second time I mixed the cinnamon and Splenda together and the cinnamon was evenly spread on top; not chunky. I had to reduce the cook time to 1 1/2 minutes. I recipe was like "Mom's Warm Milk" but due to the nutritional benefits of cinnamon and it's one of the world's healthiest foods, I like this recipe more. I also find this a rather sweet treat that fills me up after a light breakfast or a calming, night cap. Loved the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
My kids loved this! It only needs 30-40 seconds in the microwave for them. We squirted whipping cream on the top and add sprinkled only a dash of cinnamon and a bit of chocolate milk mix (or chocolate syrup) on top of that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
If you add a little bit more cinnamon this tastes just like chai tea! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
My 6 year old son loves this....did want to know what the brown spots were. I explained it was nutmeg and he was fine with it. He's not a fan of regular hot chocolate and chocolate gives me migraines, so I was pleased to find this hot drink we both enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith LaBarbera

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was something nice instead of the usual hot drinks. I placed a cinnamon stick in the mug before adding the hot milk mixture. I added a little cinnamon while using a small caffe froth. It dissolved the cinnamon and made the drink nice and frothy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
i've been making this since i was a kid only without the cinnamon. it's very good! i do like it with cinnamon too, but the other reviewer is right, it only floats on top so i mostly skip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I used skim milk, and instead of the sugar I used honey. I didn't use quite so much vanilla, but maybe I'll use more next time. This was very good and made a great alternative heated drink to hot cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States