Hot Vanilla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Not bad but the cinnamon was too strong and would only float on the top. Maybe try cinnamon schnapps instead of powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Really good beverage recipe. Plus you can play around with the spices, I love that. I'll be messing around with the measurements of this recipe for a long time for fun ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellygreen49

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I think this is a fantastic idea, but all the flavourings were far too heavy for my tastes. I halved the vanilla extract, added only a quarter of the cinnamon and omitted the sugar. Perfect! (For me at least) A word of waring for those expecting a smooth drink: cinnamon does NOT dissolve in most liquids,that includes milk. If you're put off by the idea of cinnamon floaties, I'd suggest using a cinnamon quill or some cinnamon syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Yum, this is really tasty! I didn't exactly measure out the ingredients, though (just played it by ear). Also, I used soy milk rather than 2% milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ficklepip

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This was pretty good. A nice chagne from hot chocolate. I never have 2% milk in the house, only skim so I used that. Otherwise I followed the recipe exact since it was the first time making it. I too experienced the cinnamon floating...but hey tree bark is a very bouyant substance what do you expect. After I heated it for about 40 seconds I stirred again and some of the cinnamon blended then once it was done I stirred more and much more of the cinnamon blended. I would cut back on the cinnamon next time and maybe add a dash of nutmeg, but over all pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
YUM. I used skim milk and splenda. I reduced the cinnamon to 1/4 Tsp and that is plenty for our taste. Mmm, the vanilla really makes the warm milk taste great! THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Even halfed the cinnamon and it was overbearing. Cinamon floated on me also. I'll never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I've tried this twice - once as written and once with modifications. Prepared as written, the cinnamon was gritty and detracted from the recipe due to the texture and the flavor, plus it wasn't sweet enough. The second time I increased sugar to 1 tablespoon and omitted the cinnamon, and preferred it much better. Halfway through the cup, I added a dash of nutmeg to see how that would taste, and it was delish (much nicer than the cinnamon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Ohhh my god this is awesome! I am a complete vanilla-holic and this hit the spot. Its very calming and keeps ur insides warm long after u finish it off. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Plaine, Iowa, USA
Living In: Blairstown, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Really yummy! Kinda of reminds me of Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States