Hot Vanilla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I used skim milk and Splenda sugar substitute. Heaven in a mug. Really relaxed me right before bed. I think I might use a combination of nutmeg and cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I just sprinkled the top with cinnamon when I finished microwaving it. That way you get to smell the cinnamon with every sip, but no real "floaties." It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
As is, I'll rate this as a 3 star recipe. Next time I will follow some of the reviews and mix the sugar and cinnamon first, then the vanilla, and finally the milk. I will also add another tsp of sugar, as it wasn't quite sweet enough for my taste. Still, a good starter recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Great bedtime treat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eulia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I read the other reviews and decided to use a cinnamon stick instead of the ground cinnamon. I also used skim milk and Splenda. Not a bad hot drink for right before bed, especially since coffee, chocolate, and Earl Grey tea interfere with my ability to sleep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is so yummy!!! I use skim milk instead of 2%, and instead of sugar, i used the splenda sugar blend. It' still sweet enough. I also started using a cinnamon stick vs. ground cinnamon b/c the ground cinnamon kept floating to the top and getting chunky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coler624

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Proportions taste good, but I couldn't dissolve that cinnamon, even with a drink frother (adds a nice frothy top!). **UPDATE** I now make it with Lactaid milk, 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
My daughter hates chocolate. So, I found and made this for her and she love, love, loved it!!! Me, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
My kids love this. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Not bad but the cinnamon was too strong and would only float on the top. Maybe try cinnamon schnapps instead of powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States