Hot Vanilla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I gave up chocolate & coffee for Lent. This recipe was a wonderful find! I substituted a cinnamon stick and heated it on the stove. It was too sweet for my taste so I added another cup of milk. I will fix this again using these changes (and possibly substituting a bag of spiced black tea for the cinnamon.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I've been making something similar to this for about 20 years, but I always used vanilla syrup (like you use in coffee) and a sprinkle of nutmeg. I decided to give this a try, but the cinnamon is just too much for me. And I absolutely love vanilla, but cutting back to 1 teaspoon would be enough for me in this. Vanilla sugar would probably work well, but I didn't care for the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I have been making this for years.It reminds me of rice pudding. I only use a sprinkling of cinnamon on top instead of a whole teaspoon and use 1tsp of vanilla instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This didnt work out for me, but it was kind of good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Really great, but next time I'll definitely use less cinnamon. It was way overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
i tried heating it up before putting in the cinnamon then i stirred in the cinnamon after and there was less cinnamon floating on the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deana Swartz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This recipe was amazing, though I didn't really follow it. Instead of using 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract, I only used one, and I had almost 1 1/4 cups of milk. I completely omitted the cinnamon, and yet it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
i made this for my sister she loved it but i thought it was too gross to drink so I threw it away. it had too much cinnamon and it was all floating on the top so it tasted funny. I will never cook this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I'm sorry, I REALLY wanted to like this. Even mixing the cinnamon and sugar together resulted in TOO much cinnamon floating on top (and I like cinnamon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Very bland and the cinnamon just floated on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States