Hot Tomato Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
This is now a favorite with my family. It's so easy to make. The first time I made it using fresh tomatoes and canned green chiles. The second time I just used a can of Rotel. Not much of a difference, tasted great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This was very good. It would make a great side dish for seafood. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
Wonderful - used a can of Rotel and a Mexican blend of cheeses plus sharp cheddar (I did use way more than a cup! We like our grits cheesy around here). Could have used a little Tabasco - but was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Good and yummy. My husbad who likes his grits with salt, pepper and sugar declined to eatit (party pooper) but my 1 and 4 year old gobbled it up.Everybody had seconds! We tried it with and without sugar. Of course, they ate even faster once I added the sugar. We ate it for breakfast and the entire time I had a hankering for some fried fish. if I try a recipe twice, it's good! and im trying this again with fried fish InshaAllah. its simple too, easy enough to make a family repeat. Thanx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RasheedsWife

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
a delicious grits recipe. i was out of green chiles but had a can of Rotel diced tomatoes and green chilies. garnished it with fresh tomatoes from my garden....served it with fresh fried chicken and fresh okra from the garden with a biscuit...yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith Harden

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
Definitely not health food, but it's really tasty! I can't wait to have the leftover grits with fried eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
My husband loves grits (I can take it or leave it), so I've tried to find some good recipes in recent years. This is by far our favorite - it even made a believer out of me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
I Loved these grits!! Would love to always have a bowl of them in the frige ready to reheat. Sadly, my bag of grits was not as fresh as I thought they were and so my batch was benefitted by a dollop of sour cream on the top and some roasted garlic stirred in. But with fresh grits I don't imagine they'd need the extras at all. Yummmy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This was the surprise hit of a dinner party. People were gobbling it up. Just followed directions and viola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This was awesome!! I took some to work and even the grit-haters loved it! Being a vegetarian, I changed the bacon to veggie bacon and the chicken broth to vegetable broth and it was still great. I used half sharp cheddar and half mild cheddar for the cheese. Tomatoes aren't in season now so I used a can of drained, diced tomatoes with peppers and onions. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States