Hot Tomato Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
This is now a favorite with my family. It's so easy to make. The first time I made it using fresh tomatoes and canned green chiles. The second time I just used a can of Rotel. Not much of a difference, tasted great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This was very good. It would make a great side dish for seafood. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
Wonderful - used a can of Rotel and a Mexican blend of cheeses plus sharp cheddar (I did use way more than a cup! We like our grits cheesy around here). Could have used a little Tabasco - but was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Good and yummy. My husbad who likes his grits with salt, pepper and sugar declined to eatit (party pooper) but my 1 and 4 year old gobbled it up.Everybody had seconds! We tried it with and without sugar. Of course, they ate even faster once I added the sugar. We ate it for breakfast and the entire time I had a hankering for some fried fish. if I try a recipe twice, it's good! and im trying this again with fried fish InshaAllah. its simple too, easy enough to make a family repeat. Thanx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RasheedsWife

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
a delicious grits recipe. i was out of green chiles but had a can of Rotel diced tomatoes and green chilies. garnished it with fresh tomatoes from my garden....served it with fresh fried chicken and fresh okra from the garden with a biscuit...yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEIFFER007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
Definitely not health food, but it's really tasty! I can't wait to have the leftover grits with fried eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
My husband loves grits (I can take it or leave it), so I've tried to find some good recipes in recent years. This is by far our favorite - it even made a believer out of me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
I Loved these grits!! Would love to always have a bowl of them in the frige ready to reheat. Sadly, my bag of grits was not as fresh as I thought they were and so my batch was benefitted by a dollop of sour cream on the top and some roasted garlic stirred in. But with fresh grits I don't imagine they'd need the extras at all. Yummmy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This was the surprise hit of a dinner party. People were gobbling it up. Just followed directions and viola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This was awesome!! I took some to work and even the grit-haters loved it! Being a vegetarian, I changed the bacon to veggie bacon and the chicken broth to vegetable broth and it was still great. I used half sharp cheddar and half mild cheddar for the cheese. Tomatoes aren't in season now so I used a can of drained, diced tomatoes with peppers and onions. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States