Hot Toddy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Use this when I feel a cold/cough coming on. I brew a regular sized cup of decaf tea and leave a little room at the top. Then I add the juice of 1/2 a lemon, honey, and whiskey - I am not a big fan of the flavor of whiskey so go light on that, probably use a half of a shot glass. Very soothing and relaxing on a rainy night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I just made these for a friend and myself and they were fantastic. The only thing I added was some shaken whipping cream on top - but they tasted awesome either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Well don't tell my boyfriend but he had the most horrible and annoying cough, he swears cough medicine doesn't help and refuses to make a dr. apt. Sooo, I made this drink for him about 45 mins ago and I have not heard a cough from him yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I like to make the water recipe but I also had juice from a fresh orange and 1/2 a teaspoon of vanilla. I also add brown sugar and a cinamon stick like another user suggested. It always helps me feel better and get some sleep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Made it with tea, like others suggested. It was nice to have a warm beverage, but it didn't have a lot of flavor. However, I will keep this in mind for when I get a cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
These are great for sore throats and the flu (or whatever else is ailing you). I leave out the cloves - personal preference. Bourbon works well in a pinch if you don't have whiskey. I got sick right after Thanksgiving and this was the only thing that gave me any relief. My husband thought these were gross, that is until he got sick shortly after and wanted me to make him one.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Wasn't sick but I can imagine it helping. It works as a sleep aid as well, goodnight. LMAO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I made this with tea instead of just hot water, I'm not a fan of watered down whisky. Didn't have lemons so I used lemon tea instead. It was delicious. My throat feels great and I'm nice and toasty warm. I would definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
My favorite drink recipe to have after shoveling the snow. Only change I made is that I can't wait the five minutes to drink it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
It did nothing for my stuffy nose but after drinking the hotty toddy (and no I'm not drunk and I do know how to spell the title of this drink), I sure didn't care about it. Goodnight ya'll! Oh wait. I did modify after tasting the final results, which tasted like watered down whiskey. I made hot tea and combined the 2 drinks. Served with "Fresh Pea Soup," "Italian Peas," "Fried Broccoli," "Pumpkin Seed Beer Brittle," and "Ham and Cheese Bowties."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States