Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
This was really very good. I skipped the peppers and fried onion and garlic with the ground beef. I did a layer of cheese on top of the corn then layered the beef and mixed in the rest of the cheese in the cornbread for the top layer. Easy to make and was a quick week night dinner. It does make a large amount, next time I will cut recipe in half for just the two of us. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
We really loved this. Only 2 of us so I did half the recipe and only cooked 40 mins. Kept to the recipe except for just a couple of things. Used gr. turkey just because we prefer over gr. beef and I did add some onion and garlic while browning the meat. Will make again!! Oh, I didn't have any Chipotle gr. pepper so subbed some Chipotle hot sauce, worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
We added some extra garlic and onion. Our family just likes stronger flavors. We loved the use of Poblano peppers. I can' t recall every cooking with them before so the flavor was a nice surprise for us. So easy to throw together. I also tried this with some chopped up leftover roast and liked that even better. The whole family loves this but has unanimously agreed that two layers of cornbread is too much. Reducing the cornbread would definitely make this five stars. This WAS too spicy for my twelve year old as written. Not for the rest of us though. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole Schneck
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
This was so delicious! I had to cut the recipe in half because I only had 1 lb of meat I also didn't have any cornbread mix so I had to make mine from scratch and you know what I think it's ten times better that way even though you dirty a few more dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Schneck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
I found it very delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pham Quang Vinh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timmi & Lizzi In The Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Photo by David Josiah Harris
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Minimal, incidental changes... Ground turkey for ground beef, serrano for poblano peppers, fresh market salsa from the grocery store instead of jarred salsa, canned corn for frozen, and butter for greasing the pan. Also I shredded my own queso blanco. So really I just made something based off of this recipe and it was great! Its a great idea because you can put any fillers you want in the meat sauce. I might try chorizo next time, or a mix or chorizo and beef. In the video Chef John says to fill your meat sauce layer to the edge of the pan, and then on the next cornbread layer to avoid the edges in order to allow venting. I tried something different, and it works well to keep the meat sauce in the middle with a 0.5in space away from the edge of the pan all the way around. Then the next layer is filled as normal. That's how I got the layering pictured. I also did half the recipe and still got two 9in circle baking pans out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I followed the recipe as written. The only difference I made was I cranked up the heat to 375 deg. and it baked up fine in about 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I wish I could score this dish higher than 5. The sweet of the cornbread, the spice of the meat mixture, WOW! My husband is still raving about this one. Thanks again for another winner Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Excellent easy meal. I love how versatile it is. I would suggest to make sure you drain the grease from the meat before adding all your seasonings - The corn bread will soak it all up if you don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by French QT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States