Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Will make again with more spice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Harrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I cut this recipe in half for just the two of us. This was delicious and so easy to fix. I did put the cheese on top of the meat mixture instead of in the cornbread topping. I will try it with ground turkey the next time, and add a can of black beans with the meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
So disappointing! We thought it was dry and lacked flavor. Really easy but not something to get excited about at all.... Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Tried this recipe today for New Years Day dinner and it was delicious! It was something different for us and fun to try. My husband thought it was great also. I made my own cornbread instead of using Jiffy. The recipe is from allrecipes called "Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread." It is an easy way to make cornbread and very tasty. I followed some other people's reviews and used only 1 pound of beef and added black beans. I also chopped up some onion and garlic, which I added when I added the peppers. I think the recipe is great as is but am also excited to try some variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Excellent! Substituted 2 cans Rotel, doubled the cheese, added about half can of black beans. My daughter, who doesn't like spicy food, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Bobke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My husband gave this 5 stars and requested I add it to my regular repertoire. Very delicious. I used 1 lb ground turkey and 1 lb ground chorizo for my meats. I used corn and black bean salsa to add a little fiber. Even my picky 7 year old nephew loved it. It was a bit spicy but we like it that way. Thanks, Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oak Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is very good. I cut it in half for our needs and bake it in an 8X8 pan. The cornbread batter will seem very thin but it rises well. The only change I made is to use Mexicorn now instead of fresh because it is easier to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josie
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Tried it. Sorry, family prefers Shepherd's Pie instead if going to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This is a great recipe and easy to adapt to whatever you have available. I often use leftover chili (with beans) for the meat mixture and beaten eggs for the bottom layer. Pepper, cheese, cornbread all good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Homemade cornbread isn't as sweet if that's what u want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jogoedert

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States