Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Prepared using Hodgson Mill GF cornbread mix using package directions, in place of Jiffy mix. Delicious! This would be a good potluck dish too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Flynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great recipe and simple to make. I followed the directions as described and I'll def make it again. The variety of variations that could be done to this is endless so I would suggest trying different things each time you make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
My whole family put this in their top five rotation dinners. Changes I made: cornbread from scratch, homemade taco seasoning instead of chipotle powder and salt...just because I didn't have it. Also omitted poblano for the same reason. Super yummo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I didn't see in the recipe or see anyone's review mention draining the grease off of the ground beef. If you are using regular ground beef and not the super lean ground beef, you would surely have to drain off the grease, wouldn't you? Shouldn't the recipe either state extra lean ground beef or add "drain the cooked ground beef"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Made this vegan with vegan cheese and soy crumbles...no egg... Delightful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Amazing, very tasty. There are all kinds of ways to change it up but it's fantastic just the way it is. THANKS AGAIN CHEF JOHN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baketeer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Made this last week and my family is already requesting it again. It was so fast and easy to put together. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hourglasswman
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Family loves it. I have made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I've been wanting to make it for a long time and finally got around to it. I did make a few changes because of the poblano peppers. I cook with them alot so I cooked those first along with the onions to ensure they were tender. I don't like chewing on onions or peppers if they are in my food. Then I added the meat and continued to cook everything, towards the end I added a small bunch of fresh chopped cilantro . I also used my own salsa recipe: 5slrings cilantro, 2 large tomatoes, 3 cloves garlic, 1tbs chx stock half onion 1 jalapeño boiled and blended. It made the meat taste more authentic and less ' Taco Bell '- but I'm Mexican- American so I know how to play with those flavores. I also added 2 tsp of canned chipotle juice instead of the dried stuff. My husband loved it and wants me to add it to the rotation. Oh! If you like a crunchy topped casserole, keep the cheese in the top mix, I like mine softer/ it's so I kept the cheese out and just sprinkled it under and over the meat then spread the jiffy over that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chukluvr
Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Excellent recipe! I added onion and garlic to the meat while browning, drained off some of the fat, added in the poblano peppers (sometimes incorrectly called pasilla chiles in the grocery stores I found out), oregano, salt, 1 can of Rotel drained and thick and chunky roasted garlic salsa to equal 2 cups. I used 1 tablespoon taco seasoning instead of the ground chipotle . Simmered for about 10 min and stirred in some black olives and chopped fresh cilantro. I followed the recipe, using more cheese than called for and mine was done baking in 45 minutes. Served with sour cream and salsa on top and on the side , a simple salad of iceberg and romaine lettuces , chopped tomatoes and Catalina dressing. We all loved it and can't wait to eat the rest tonight! This recipe is a keeper! My first time making a recipe by Chef John and it was great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badkitty1116

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States