Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I did make some additions to the recipe. (Hopefully not too many. :) ) I added Rotel tomatoes instead of salsa, 2 cans of corn (undrained), 2 cans of pinto beans (drained and rinsed). I could not get poblano peppers, so I substituted anaheim peppers. I also added cumin, taco seasoning, chopped onion and minced garlic. I also cut the cooking time to 40 minutes at 350. It turned out very nicely...even my daughter liked it (she always complains of spicy food). Will definitely put this in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This was really good. It was a little dry so I might add a little more salsa the next time, but the flavor is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I live abroad so having the muffin mix was no good, but I have a wonderful corn bread recipe I used instead. Corn bread with cheddar cheese in it was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I made this because it looked like it was similar to what my mom made when we were kids, but her recipe was sweet, so this wasn't it. I can't really rate this fairly because I'm not sure I followed it exactly. I had chipotle chili powder, and I'm not sure if that's the same thing as just chipotle powder. Also, since I halved the recipe, I skipped having the corn bread on the bottom, and just spread the mixture with the cheese over the meat mixture. It only baked for about 25 minutes that way. Overall, it was much spicier than I would have liked, and it could have been that the chipotle chili powder wasn't the right spice. It had sort of a strange taste. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
My wife and I enjoyed this recipe. I used more cheese than the recipe called for, and instead of using dried chipotle pepper, I used a can of whole chipotle pepper in adobo sauce. I think that this definitely helped to bring out more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Just OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amonia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Didn't have poblanos so I added a couple of minced jalapenos, forgot the corn. All cheese inside and used 1.2 of ground turkey instead. Added a chopped up red bell and lots of black olive slices. Went back and forth trying to decide on half or full recipe. Went with full and so glad I did. LOVED it. And as I like to do, I drizzled with honey before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I found this to be a good meal for a change. Nothing I would rush to make again, however my son loved it. I used hot & sweet peppers from my garden instead of the poblanos and I decreased the chipotle pepper to 1/4 tsp. because I knew it would be too hot for my family. It was perfect and still had a kick. I also googled homemade Jiffy corn bread mix and used that instead of the box mix and I subbed the white sugar in the recipe for maple syrup (always looking for ways to make recipes healthier).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This recipe is so good! I think roasting the poblano peppers & removing the skin prior to adding to the meat made a big difference in the flavor. Otherwise I followed the recipe to a tee and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States