Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I made this last night and it was very good! My daughter LOVED it! I tweaked the recipe slightly because I didn't have Pablano Peppers. I used a can of Chopped Green Chiles and 1/2 can of Chopped Jalapeno Peppers instead, and it came out really good. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Fantastic! I followed others with the Rotel instead of Salsa & cooked the meat with some onion. I halved the recipe & made in an 8x8 pan (i divided the 1 box of cornbread after I mixed it up). Topped it with sour cream & some chopped cilantro. The cilantro really took it up a notch. I used a full can of Rotel plus a little salsa. The dried chipotle chile pepper really added a wonderful smokey flavor. I do not think taco seasoning is necessary as others stated in reviews. That would take away from the flavor of the chipotle. I was concerned about the little thin layer of cornbread on top & bottom but it rose beautifully & was just the perfect amount. My husband requested this recipe be in the weekly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha Bodi Wolfe

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Good recipe. I did make some minor changes, but just based on history/personal preferences.(Used mild Rotel, instead of salsa and peppers, just Mexican cheese blend , taco seasoning, putting a tablespoon of oil in cornbread mix). If you're looking for something just like the 1st picture, then may want to consider halving cornbread, or just using one box, perhaps in a 9X9" pan. Ended up more bready than anticipated, but still good. Also the "layering" part was a little confusing as a 1st time preparer. Bake time ended up being only about 35 minutes. Other than that pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Very yummy recipe. I cut it half and made it in an 8 x 8 pan. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This was a great and easy dinner. It's only the two of us so I cut the recipe in half and cooked it in a smaller dish. We are not pepper people so I left them out but added a 1/4 of an onion, a package of taco seasoning and a pinch of red pepper flakes. I also used ground turkey instead of beef. Turned out great. Only used 1 box of muffin mix also. Thanks for the recipe and all the ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
It's missing taco seasoning, add it to the meat. Taste like Cheesecake Factory 's corn cakes!YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This recipe is amazing. I changed things up a bit.... I used a bag of frozen mexican vegetables and added them to the beef when it was just about cooked. I used Rot-tel instead of salsa and minced garlic. Then to put an added spin on it.... I cubed up Philadelphia Cream Cheese and placed it on top of my meat mixture before adding the top layer or cornbread. It gave it so much rich flavor that I will definetly make it like this again. Fresh chopped cilantro with sour cream when served as well!! Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
We didn't care for this one. Tried the Cheesy Cornbread Casserole from this site, we give that one *****! Plus, it's much easier - a win/win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Delicious comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darren K
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This recipe was a fabulous guide! I did not have poblano peppers or chipotle peppers. I used instead Adams reserve Southwest rub found at H-E-B stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happygirlrae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States