Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
i love it , i did some changes , i used a round pie pan , i used only 1 box of muffin mix , garlic and onions and i cover the meat with corn too .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
next time make a half recipe very good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
We LOVED this recipe. The only changes I made were to drain the beef fat before adding the rest of the ingredients and we added chilli powder, cayane, red pepper flakes and a bit of cumin. It was a hit! It was an enormous amount of food though. Next time I will do 1lb beef, 1 pepper, and only make a top crust. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Excellent. Used a green pepper instead of poblano and used a can of rotel in place of salsa. Served with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goodland, Kansas, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was the tastiest thing I've had in a while, and very simple to prepare! I doubled the recipe and froze one, so I look forward to enjoying this meal again soon. What's nice is that you can make it as spicy (or not) as you wish, depending on your salsa preference. I was cooking for my kids, so I substituted chili powder for the chipotle seasoning and used a milder salsa. I agree with some of the other reviewers on the baking time; 40 minutes was PERFECTION. Any longer and I think it would've been over-browned and dried-out. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This reminds me of a dish my Mother used to make when I was a kid in the 1950s. Pure glorious comfort food, add a handfull of fresh chopped cilantro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gmcelincoln

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I have enjoyed this recipe as written, but I had some italian sausage on hand and I decided to switch this up with an Itaian flare. I followed the recipe using a 19 oz. package of Johnsonville sweet italian sausage. Subbed Spaghetti sauce for salsa, basil and red pepper flakes for the chipotle, mozarella & parmesan for the cheddar, olives for the corn. Served with a dollop of marscapone cheese for yummy results. Try this rendition....it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was a definite do again. I took some other comments and added onion and used rotel. I cut up jalapeno peppers. Getting it into a bowl to eat my family added some salsa and it really gave it a great flavor. So easy and everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was just okay. Nothing special. I halved the beef, and it was plenty. I only cooked it for 45 minutes and it came out pretty dry. Thankfully, I read other reviews and added tons of onion, garlic, and other spices to the beef. I also used my favorite spicy salsa, so it had a nice kick to it. But the crumbly-sweet cornbread was not style. If I tried this again I would make my own cornbread, with little or no sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
A burst of flavor...this was very good!!! My son and husband LOVED this. Not a fan of corn bread, so I divided the mixture between 2 double-crust pies and I doubled the corn and added extra cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States