Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Wow. This was delicious! I will definitely be making this again. I added a tablespoon of my boyfriend's "secret" chili spice mix (he won't tell me his secret, said it's a hodge podge of 15 different spices though). I omitted the chipotle powder and added a can of black beans and a 1/2 cup of onions which I sauteed with the meat (the onions). I used a Mexican cheese mixture because it was on sale. Seriously, this was soo good! I highly recommend this to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
yes i did try it a big hit going to make it again tomorrow tyvm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
im cooking it with anahiem peppers ! ill let you know ! sure smells delish !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs. wagner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I've made this several times now and LOVE it, as do my husband and daughter. Great as is or change it up. Cut in half fits well in a 9" pie pan for 4-5 servings. I usually leave out the corn and add 1 1/2 cups or 1 can of drained kidney or black beans. Less cheese works fine, too. Tonight I'm trying it all vegetarian with lentils instead of the meat. Google recipes for make your own Jiffy corn bread so you don't have the processed corn. Can make extra filling and freeze it, set up your homemade corn bread mix, come home and throw it together and into the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Awesome. Softened chopped onion, push out to side of pan, brown ground beef on one side before breaking up meat and following Chef instructions. Drained fat before step #4. Used garlic salt instead of salt. As others have done, instead of Salsa I used one can Rotel Original (10 oz), and approximately 6 oz Rotel Hot. (Let the Rotel liquid reduce a bit before following the directions as written.) A nice blend of spices with just the right kick. We are in Tamale Pie love. Thanks Chef John for a delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
It's good, worth making again. My husband eats such hot things that unless flames are shooting out his mouth it's "bland" to him. Versatile, you can easily tweak and substitute whatever you want in the meat mixture (adding black beans and such). I have added diced fire-roasted jalapenos to the corn mix before and it was good. My biggest beef with this recipe: spreading the corn mix over the top. UGH! It seems like there isn't enough and when you spread it it has to take the meat mixture with it. Also, next time, more meat, less corn mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOT72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jerseyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Yum! Every year I look for new recipes to feed the guys during wheat harvest and this recipe will be added. It's easy and pretty much a complete meal. Just add a salad and head out to the fields. I did not have salsa so I also used a can of Rotel. Had jalapenos from my garden and substituted those for the pablanos but used only three since they are much spicier than pablanos. I had pepper jack cheese and that worked in place of plain monterey jack. Thanks for this yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsarnp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Dodge City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
At first I thought this recipe was too watery but when it's done you have something moist, heavy and very filling. Warning!! this recipe is the kind of food that makes you want to eat more even when your full. My family devoured this the two times I made it. I made this without the peppers as I had none and my 4yo doesn't like spicy food much, so I added a can of Hunts diced tomatoes with green pepper, added more cheese (about a handful, lol). The second time I added peas, onion and diced green bell pepper for texture. We are vegetable lovers here and I like to see a mixture of color on my plate. I will try a vegetarian version of this as the little one isn't much of a fan of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALASKANSNOBUNNI
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Super yummy! :) Loved it. I did some things different...but the main recipe is amazing. I used green chilies instead...the last bit of instructions confused me (boys messing around in the kitchen while I was trying to cook...) and so I added the corn in with the meat mixture and added all the cheese in the one corn bread mixture. And I only used cheddar cheese. It was great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKANSNOBUNNI

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I modified this slightly using Hot Pico de Gallo instead of salsa, freshly shucked corn, no Chipotle and of course I roasted my poblanos. The recipe made MUCH more than my wife and I could eat for dinner plus leftovers. But as I ate the rest throughout the week without getting tired of it, I'd say it's pretty tasty. Making it again, I think I'll try 1/4 recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Slottke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States