Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I made this tamale pie for dinner last week and I did not have any left overs. My family loved it, especially my step son...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Che Che

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Didn't care for this at all ... The meat "layer' was fine but should have used my brain and NOT used a corn muffin mix ... Not a fan of sweet cornbread, which wrecked this dish for me ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I had never had this before and I really loved it! I made mine with ground turkey, some extra salsa, extra peppers, onions, and black beans with jalapeños. I did not have the poblano peppers and it tasted just fine without, though I was happy that I went out and bought the dried chipotle pepper because it had a unique taste and added the heat that I wanted. I did not add cheese to the cornbread, but just made a small layer in the meat. I added two tablespoons of sugar to each of the Jiffy mixes because that is what tastes good to me (I can't stand plain cornbread for some reason). Since my hubby has GERD, I made his version different with just meat, kidney beans, and 1/2 cup of mayo in the middle, along with the corn and cheese. He loved his as well! We'll be having this again sometime soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I made the hot tamale pie for my husband and three boys and they loved it. I had to make two the following week because they wanted to have extra to snack on. thankyou for this great recipe. doreen llamas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This was super. I made it as written. Very flavorful. I was afraid the meat mixture was going to be too spicy (it was very spicy upon tasting) but the double-layer of cornbread cooled things down. I did think that the corn was delicious so for myself, I'll add more. Also, one could probably leave out the bottom layer of cornbread for calorie reasons, but it truly was delish and I will make again, probably with the bottom cornbread intact. I could NOT find the chipotle pepper in the supermarket and ended up buying "Spicy Chipotle Chicken" spices (those little cards with the spices attached, already pre-measured) because it had the perfect amount of Chipotle pepper in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This is so good! I halved the recipe, subbed Rotel for salsa and poblano, used taco seasoning instead of ground chipotle, and baked in 2 bread loaf pans for 40 min (until corn bread began to brown). I was very happy with the tasty results even though I forgot to throw some onions and garlic in with the browning meat as was my intention.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Great recipe! I used my immersion blender on the salsa and peppers before adding them to the meat. My kids don't like when they can see the chunks of peppers. I also added a little taco seasoning and they gobbled it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I've made this several times and my family loves it. The way we like it best is easier than the original recipe. I cook the ground beef as directed and use a 24oz jar of Pace medium picante sauce with the rest of the ingredients as listed. I add the corn to this mixture and pour it into the dish. Then I top it with the cheese, and then the two boxes of corn muffin mixture on top. Baking time is the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was a delicious recipe. I did alter it some because it sounded like too much pepper heat to me. I used bell pepper and cubed, pickled Jalapeno peppers and regular black pepper. It was hot enough for my family and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States