Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My husband gave this 5 stars and requested I add it to my regular repertoire. Very delicious. I used 1 lb ground turkey and 1 lb ground chorizo for my meats. I used corn and black bean salsa to add a little fiber. Even my picky 7 year old nephew loved it. It was a bit spicy but we like it that way. Thanks, Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oak Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is very good. I cut it in half for our needs and bake it in an 8X8 pan. The cornbread batter will seem very thin but it rises well. The only change I made is to use Mexicorn now instead of fresh because it is easier to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josie
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Tried it. Sorry, family prefers Shepherd's Pie instead if going to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This is a great recipe and easy to adapt to whatever you have available. I often use leftover chili (with beans) for the meat mixture and beaten eggs for the bottom layer. Pepper, cheese, cornbread all good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Great recipe, my family enjoyed it just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
My biggest gripe with it is the Jiffy corn bread mix is too sweet for my taste in this recipe. I would have preferred the recipe on the back of a cornmeal box for this recipe. Still, not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyaun Regan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This recipe is SUPER! My family loves cornbread and Mexican anything, so the combo is a winner. I know my family, so I double the spices, and use 3 lb ground beef. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCHAPROV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alamosa, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Great when the weather gets cold! It's so easy to add other ingredients to make this to your liking. Can't go wrong with chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I made this last night and it was a huge hit. However, I didn't have any salsa or hot peppers, so I pretty much prepared the ground turkey the same way I would for spaghetti. I browned it with garlic, onion, and red peppers, and seasoned it with garlic powder, pepper, salt, and Italian seasoning. Then i poured tomato spaghetti sauce over it and let it simmer a bit. I then followed the instructions for the cornbread, corn, cheese, meat, and cornbread again. It was truly delicious. I was a bit worried, because I deviated alot from the original recipe, but it still turned out great! thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States