Hot Sweet Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
I'm good friends with the the submitter of the recipe and the site gave the wrong proportions,much to her alarm. You make this with 2 cups mayo, 2 cups shredded swiss cheese and 2 cups vidalia or any sweet onion (NOT all those onions it says to use!!!)No wonder some people thought it was nasty. It's to die for when it's made correctly! I hope those people who had bad experiences will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
We could not stop eating this dip! Next time I will put it into a crock pot to keep warm throughout the party. I substituted 8oz (1 brick) of cream cheese for half the mayo and used both parmesan (FRESHLY GRATED - not powdered ) and swiss cheeses. The parmesan added a nice kick of flavor and I think that all swiss would have been too bland. Be sure to chop the onions medium-fine or it takes a lot longer for the onions to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I got a variation of this recipe from my good friend Karen and I love it! She uses: 3 onions, 2 c mayo, 2 c shredded swiss, 1 8 oz can choped water chestnuts, 1/4 c dry white wine, 1 minced garlic glove, 1/2 tsp hot sauce. It is a fabulous recipe. There is always a crowd hovering over this dip at parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
A friend of mine calls this recipe "Cuppa, Cuppa, Cuppa" as in "a cup of Vidalia onions, a cup of mayonnaise, a cup of swiss cheese." (Or in this recipe's case, two cups of each!) I made this last night for Monday Night Football and it was a crowd favorite! Use a sturdy cracker for this dip - - regular tortilla chips just snapped when you scooped. Can't wait to try the leftover reheated tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I've been making this a party staple ever since snagging the recipe from a friend years ago. This is THE BEST and it's so easy. The rater who said "cuppa, cuppa, cuppa" made me laugh, because that's how I remember the recipe when I asked. Equal parts swiss, mayo, and sweet onions. I use light mayo and it's still yummy. Great w/crusty french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
GREASY, GREASY, GREASY! I was very embarrased last night when this came out of the oven in front of all of my guests. Everyone kept asking how much butter I put into the dip. This dip was nothing but a huge puddle of grease. The ingredients seperated and it was just a mess. Needless to say, I had TONS left because no one really wanted to eat a big pile of greasy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Love this dip, use low fat Hellman's mayo instead of full fat and it won't be so greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winn, Maine, USA
Living In: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was quick and easy to make. I ate this warm. I thought the 2 cups of mayo was going to be too much so I added more like 1.5 cups and it was great. Thanks for the quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Very, very yummy and totally delish! Makes a ton of dip, enough for 8 persons Chistmas eve and Christmas day! Followed the recipe exactly except used 3 onions (mine were pretty big) and garnished with a sprinkle of paprika on top for color. Served with cocktail rye, carrot chips, and pita chips. Really easy, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
The taste is wonderful. I had this at a potluck at work and had to get the recipe from my coworker (her only difference is to add a little parm. cheese with the swiss). I do agree with one of the other users...this recipe does produce A LOT of grease. Just drain it as much as you can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERRYFINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States