Hot Sweet Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Made it for the Superbowl. Had left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
The recipe is great but 400 degrees is too high a temp. It makes the mayo separate & causes greasiness. Bake at 300-325 as in other similar recipes and you'll really enjoy the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I love this recipe but I hollow out a loaf of French bread and put the dip inside and bake it. The bread shell soaks up the greasiness, it's always a great hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Great dip! Was a hit at my party. I used one of each ingredient. 1 onion, 1 C mayo and shredded swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Not horrible, just bland. After the first few bites I added cooking sherry, fresh ground pepper, & cajun seasoning which helped a little. Perfect texture for dip though so will probably make again with minor tweaks in seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
WAY TO GREASY! I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I served this to my Bunco group and EVERY single Member asked for the recipe! Thanks to you, you're right it disappeared FAST!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I love this dip; I'm making it right now. To reduce the greasiness, I use half real sour cream (not fat free)and half real Hellman's mayo. I also add about 4 turns of my pepper and salt mills. To reduce onion smell/tears while I'm making this, I put the cheese in a mixing bowl, season it with salt and pepper and stir it up with my hands, add the sour cream/mayo mixture and stir everything up well, and THEN cut the onions and quickly fold them into the cheese/mayo/sour cream mixture. I also like the recipe as is and I am really thankful to adodd for posting it--so delicious! Great with bread, crackers, and even Doritoes. I simply can't imagine making this with anything but real mayo--I never touch lite or reduced fat mayo, and I would certainly never make this with miracle whip because it seems like the flavor would be off. The sour cream reduces the greasiness without changing the flavor base. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I make this dip alot and love having leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maine, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I followed the advice of others and used 1.5 cups kraft light mayo (other ingredients unchanged) and it turned out great! It just started to brown on top at 20 minutes, which was perfect. It is best hot, but still good once it's cooled. Another reviewer mentioned that it's not the prettiest, and maybe it doesn't pop on the party table, but once people began to try it, word spread and it disappeared quickly! I also used a metal 8x8, not glass, which may have helped it cook more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States