Hot Sweet Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
This is a really tasty recipe. However, I did have to keep it in the oven for longer than the time specified. You just have to watch it until it really starts to brown and bubble. I made it a second time with two cups of onions and it turned out awesome. It does not require four whole onions. I used about 2 big Vidalias and it was great! Definitely a keeper! You won't be disappointed and neither will your guests!!!! Really delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
This dish tastes wonderful. The only drawback is an enormous amount of grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
One reviewer said this creates a lot of grease. I didn't find that to be the case. I used Miracle Whip "lite" instead of regular mayo. If you have access to Vidalia onions, by all means, USE THEM in this recipe. I also only used two onions and kept it in the oven longer than the recipe stated. I let the dish bake, then sprinkled some sweet paprika over the top and broiled it for a few minutes. This really is a great recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
Great dip recipe, I suggest using a shallow dish to back it in. I used a mexican cheese mix, with white sweet onions and nacho chips to dip it, everyone loved it. I will make this again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
This recipe is so simple and it is wonderful! I used approx. 2 cups grated onion, 2 cups shredded swiss cheese and only 1 cup mayonnaise. It is excellent if served with fresh baguette slices. Always a crowd pleaser!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Oh how sad! Love sweet onions, and all but this was sooo onion-y that no one would try a second bite. What a shame, and a waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
I followed the suggestions to only use the two large onions and I used miricle whip.... It all got eaten. I think next time I will try it with mayo and I'm anxious to try it with vadalias!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
Great recipe! Everyone loved it. I didn't find it greasy at all. I did put it in two small round baking dishes about 5 inches across. I used 3 medium vadallia onions. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Green, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dayton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
This is a sure hit for any party! Keep this recipe at to front of your cookbook !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
I've made this several times and it's always a HIT! Thanks for this great dip recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States