Hot Sweet Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
The dip was truly delish; people loved it at our New Years gathering. I was wondering if I did something wrong though because as it sat on the buffet table the top started forming puddles of what looked like melted butter (am assuming it is the fat from the cheese and mayo)...has anybody else experienced this? Maybe a crock pot to keep it warm throughout night might conceal the fats? I don't know...any suggestions? Was very yummy even if it is bad for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Fam loved it! Baked in 2 small bread bowls after cooking 20 min or so first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I read one review that said they have nicknamed this dip "baked fat". Well that is pretty accurate...it produced a lot of grease. I took it to my in-laws and it was hardly touched. Those that did taste it said the flavor was alright, but the grease was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Not too bad for a 3 ingredient, quick and easy dip. The ingredients together didn't sound very appealing but I had to try it. I served on toasted french bread. It wasn't the most attractive of dips, kind of curdled looking, however, it had a decent taste. Although this probably won't be a regular made recipe at the house, it is is quick and easy backup for those times when you have unexpected guests and need to whip up something fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly, and while we really liked the flavor I did find it a little on the runny side. I will make again, but maybe sub some sour cream for cream cheese to thicken it up. Over all a hit though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I made this for my nephew's birthday party yesterday and it was a huge hit. I added some Mozzerella Cheese as another reviewer suggested, it came out awesome! I also used my food processor with the slicing blade in order to reduce the prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Been making this for years- it's great. I usually sprinkle some paprika on top for color. Serve with club crackers. Great! I notice the brand of mayo makes a difference on the oil/grease factor. I usually use hellmans but used Kraft last night and it turned out great- not too oily at all. I think I'll use Kraft from now on. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Delicious! We had ours with sun chips. The only thing I didn't like was as it cools it gets oily. What can you expect though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
When company arrives unexpected, or if I am short on time this recipe is a super time saver, in and out of the oven in no time. Many people have asked for the recipe. I have tried it with many cheeses I have had on hand and the swiss cheese is the best, in my opinion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karenrf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
A good friend of mine makes this but with only 1 cup mayo. Very addicting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States