Hot Spinach Red Pepper Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Very good dip!! I made a few modifications though. I cooked the spinach and red pepper along with about 1 teaspoon of minced garlic in 3 tablespoons of butter instead of boiling them in water. I cooked them until the spinach and red pepper were tender, then I added the cream cheese, milk, about 1/2 cup sour cream and about 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese. I followed the rest of the recipe as it is written, then I transferred the mix to a small crockpot turned on low to keep it warm. Then, I thinly sliced a loaf of Italian bread, lightly buttered each side, and sprinkled mozzerella and parmesan cheeses on it. I baked the bread on a cookie sheet for about 10 minutes at 350 degrees and served the bread with this dip. It made a great appetizer for our party, everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiLGarnsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Gay, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I made this dip for a cooking party at the house and was very pleased! First - we used frozen spinach and it turned out just fine. Second - We added one clove of fresh garlic (finely chopped). Third - We used roasted red peppers instead of fresh. It added much more flavor to the dip. Fourth - we added some Italian blend cheese into the mixture to make it extra cheesy and to thicken it a bit; we then put a generous sprinkle on top to melt in the oven. For the bread bowl we picked up a round on the discount bakery rack and stuck it in the freezer ahead of time. It didn't matter that it was hard since we were just hollowing it out for the dip. The dip was a big hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskaJenni
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
OMG! This dip is fantastic! I sliced one red pepper and 3 gloves of garlic very thin and roasted in the oven with maybe a tablespoon of olive oil and a teaspoon of Italian seasoning. Mixed in the spinach/pepper with the diced roasted peppers and garlic. Used Parmesan/Romano blend cheese and doubled the cheese. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I loved this recipe and so did my party guests! I served as a cold dip so that I could make the night before. I used diced roasted red peper from a jar. I added garlic powder and some finely sliced green onion. After heating I let cool for 10 min then added approximately 1/2 cup of sour cream (depending how loose you want it). I chilled overnight and it was awesome. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
So yummy!! I will definitely be making this again. It was incredibly easy to make, only required one pan to be dirtied and it tastes divine! I accompanied the dip with carrots and green peppers (I wanted to use red peppers but I ran out). The sweet flavor of the carrots fit the dip perfectly. I didn't care for the green peppers as much. Next time I will definitely use red peppers, carrots, and bread. And believe me, there WILL be a next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I'm always looking for dips for raw vegetables and rice crackers. I'm gluten-intolerant and a small amount of dip and a few rice crackers stand in for sandwiches on my lunch menus. This dip could also be made with thick sour cream instead of cream cheese. Add the sour cream to achieve the consistency you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 420isgood
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Great quick and easy spinach dip, I used fresh spinach instead of frozen because that's what I had, it turned out great. I also thought it wouldn't be spicy enough so I added about another tablespoon of crushed chili peppers, it was pretty spicy(great for me) but 2 tablespoons was probably enough for most tastes. Also if you are putting it in a bread bowl use a dish inside the bread for easy re-heating(although there might not be any left!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 420isgood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Excellent! I made this at Christmas time and have made it for football Sundays. I did not use the crushed red pepper. Also, the first time I made it I put it in a bread bowl, which was good, but noticed within a few minutes that the dip cools and it's harder to scoop. Since then, I've been making it and putting it in the crock pot 'little dipper' to keep it warm and serve it with carrots and crackers - wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe! I love spinach dip and have been making almost the exact recipe for years! The only difference in the recipe I use is to saute the red pepper and spinach in butter instead of boiling. I can't wait to try it this way and plan to do so soon ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Love this dip! I served it in a bowl, with veggies and corn chips. Bread was also available. Followed the recipe exactly, but I don't think the spinach & red pepper needs to be real exact. There was just a little left and I could not throw it away. Refrigerated and enjoyed the next day, reheated. Yummy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States