Hot Spinach Red Pepper Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I'm always looking for dips for raw vegetables and rice crackers. I'm gluten-intolerant and a small amount of dip and a few rice crackers stand in for sandwiches on my lunch menus. This dip could also be made with thick sour cream instead of cream cheese. Add the sour cream to achieve the consistency you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 420isgood
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Great quick and easy spinach dip, I used fresh spinach instead of frozen because that's what I had, it turned out great. I also thought it wouldn't be spicy enough so I added about another tablespoon of crushed chili peppers, it was pretty spicy(great for me) but 2 tablespoons was probably enough for most tastes. Also if you are putting it in a bread bowl use a dish inside the bread for easy re-heating(although there might not be any left!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 420isgood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I made this dip for a cooking party at the house and was very pleased! First - we used frozen spinach and it turned out just fine. Second - We added one clove of fresh garlic (finely chopped). Third - We used roasted red peppers instead of fresh. It added much more flavor to the dip. Fourth - we added some Italian blend cheese into the mixture to make it extra cheesy and to thicken it a bit; we then put a generous sprinkle on top to melt in the oven. For the bread bowl we picked up a round on the discount bakery rack and stuck it in the freezer ahead of time. It didn't matter that it was hard since we were just hollowing it out for the dip. The dip was a big hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskaJenni
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I love this colorful dip. I had a bag of fresh spinach that I had to use as its expiration date was today. I chopped it up, threw it in boiling water. I roasted 1 large red pepper (came out to 1 cup) in the toaster oven while spinach was boiling, drained spinach, then added freshly shredded parmesan and romano cheese to my lowfat cream cheese. I'm definitely taking this to my next party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
So yummy!! I will definitely be making this again. It was incredibly easy to make, only required one pan to be dirtied and it tastes divine! I accompanied the dip with carrots and green peppers (I wanted to use red peppers but I ran out). The sweet flavor of the carrots fit the dip perfectly. I didn't care for the green peppers as much. Next time I will definitely use red peppers, carrots, and bread. And believe me, there WILL be a next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This was great! I'm not much of a red pepper lover. In fact, I almost left it out! So glad I didn't. The red pepper made the dip. I did use bread, but it's also good with tortilla chips. Try it, you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonahsmom
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I used fresh spinach because that is what I had. I used about half a bag, which cooked down to about a half cup like the recipe calls for, however, I really love spinach, and I think when I make it next time I will use the whole bag. I also used a very large red bell pepper and roasted it in the oven while the spinach cooked. It came out perfect, but it was a lot of red pepper, so I would recommend using a medium sized red pepper. I added a little garlic powder while the spinach was cooking, and I used a bit more red pepper flakes than called for. This was so good, I will for sure make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Ambrose Rokitowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Love this dip! I served it in a bowl, with veggies and corn chips. Bread was also available. Followed the recipe exactly, but I don't think the spinach & red pepper needs to be real exact. There was just a little left and I could not throw it away. Refrigerated and enjoyed the next day, reheated. Yummy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
OMG! This dip is fantastic! I sliced one red pepper and 3 gloves of garlic very thin and roasted in the oven with maybe a tablespoon of olive oil and a teaspoon of Italian seasoning. Mixed in the spinach/pepper with the diced roasted peppers and garlic. Used Parmesan/Romano blend cheese and doubled the cheese. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Excellent recipe! I always underestimate red pepper flakes, so unless you really like it hot, don't use extra. Also, I'd recommend cooking over low heat to avoid scorching the milk/cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande2994

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States