Hot Spiked Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
First of all, I cant' believe other reviewers thought this cider was strong? I didn't taste any of the rum, nor did it pack a punch. In fact, if I hadn't seen myself add the alcohol, I would bet there isn't any in it. Secondly, it's too sickening sweet. Between the added sugar, the cinnamon and the orange spice tea, I was on sugar overload. I could only make myself drink one cup while constantly reminding myself that it was Christmas. The second cup I attempted to add some sparkle and cut the sweet by adding a bit of cranberry ginger ale. That made it tolerable, but by no means desirable. I won't make this one again. I have so much of it left over and my husband couldn't get past one cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I love this recipe and make it as soon as it gets chilly outdoors. I make it " family friendly" without the rum and add rum to those who want their s "fancy". I also omit the butter. Sometimes I make it a day ahead as flavors get stronger the longer it sits in the refrigerator. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I followed other reviews and increased the amount of cider, but I really need to be less fearful and try this recipe as written. I did not think it was too strong and couldn't really taste any of the rum with the additional cider. It was delicious nonetheless with the additional cider and tasted just like the filling of an apple pie to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Used regular dark rum. May try again with spiced rum. Was just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
make it annually with no changes. i love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I was a bit disappointed in this. Made it exactly as written, just tripled the recipe for a party, but it just didn't have enought "apple" flavor. Tasted more like a spiced tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Loved this recipe. Perfect amount of booziness for my friends. Next time will use less sugar and let the tea bags steep longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Jolla, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This was a wonderful treat. I put it in the crock pot and after it simmered for several hours it was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was a huge hit on Thanksgiving. I didn't have any orange spice tea so I used peach instead. I also added more cider since it was a bit strong. My family loved it, I think it will be a holiday staple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I made it for Thanksgiving, and it wasn't what I hoped...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States