Hot Spiked Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
We were looking for a winter drink without the heaviness of the milk and cream hot toddies, and this was a hit! We thought it needed a bit more kick, so we added 6 cloves, lemon zest, and orange zest to a tea steeper and let it marinade. Also added a bit of of cinnamon and nutmeg, and since we like scotch, added about a cup of that, balanced out with a bit more apple cider. We also left out the butter, though I'm sure it would be a nice addition. Thanks for sharing -- this was the perfect winter warmer while we went with friends in search of the perfect Christmas tree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vin-rouge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
The first time I followed this recipe exactly except used 1 cup Capt. Morgan's instead of 1 1/2 cups. It tasted pretty good but diluted, like all the flavors were there but needed to be stronger. The second time I did without the water but still used the tea bags, increased the apple cider and added some orange juice and a little lime juice, for some kick. delicious! If your unsure about how much alcohol add little by little and taste test until just right. I let it sit on low in a crock pot. Very good after those changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I have made this twice this weekend. Both times with out rum and it was AMAZING. May try it at a party next week with the rum. I used Tazo Tea Wild Sweet Orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
YUMMY.. I just made this for my husband and I---we've been craving a hot drink for the chillier nights! When he tasted it he was like "mmm, that's good!!!! I used Celestial Seasonings 'Bengal Spice' and our local apple farms fresh apple juice... thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I think this calls for too much water and not enough cider. Even with the orange tea bags it still tasted watered down and I had to keep adding more cider until it tasted right. But that was the only adjustment I made and it ended up turning out delicious! So make sure to taste before serving and adjust to your liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Good stuff! (Note: adjustments listed are for a reduced 2 servings) I couldn't find orange spice tea specifically, so I did have to make a few adjustments. I used a green mandarin orange tea instead and peeled about two inches of orange peel to intensify the orange with the tea. Added about a tbsp of cloves and have a tbsp of allspice berries after the tea had steeped. I reduced the rum slightly due to other reviewer's comments and they were right--still made a plenty strong drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I put in less alcohol as well. Lots of compliments on this one. Kept extra in a jar in fridge for a night-cap the rest of the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
all i have to say is there was nothing left. Great for a suffy head too. Enjoy this is a year favorite now. TYSM for the Recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I made this for a Christmas party and it was a big hit. I nearly tripled the recipe (4 cups of rum!) and it was all gone by the end of the night. It's definitely a too strong for my taste, I would cut down on the tea and way up the cider so it tastes more cider-y. I also didn't put the butter in the cups, but I did add about 2 tablespoons into the pot, though I don't think that was necessary because it wound up leaving a film on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Great cold too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States