Hot Spiced Cranberry Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This was just ok. It was a little too tart, even for my husband who is cranberry crazy. I would recommend using an orage instead of a lemon to cut down on the tartness. I did not do this but added more brown sugar. This helped some but made it a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This cider has what I call a "kick" - a zesty, tangy afterbite after the initial sweet favor. It will warm up you and your taste buds. The aroma is fabulous too; I will make this in the future if anything to enjoy the natural Christmas-like air freshener. Like many of the other reviewers, I had trouble chasing the cloves out of the final mixture so I poured it through a mesh strainer into a pitcher. Problem solved and ready to serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
Yummy! I couldn't find apple cider so I used apple juice. It was a bit sweet, so I didn't add the brown sugar. The spices temper the sweetness. Guests liked it and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
My mom made this every year for the holidays and I thought I'd lost that tradition. I'm so thankful that I found it here. This cider is so great! We make it in a crock pot and just let it simmer while we eat, bond, and mingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Terrific cider recipe. My guests couldn't get enough of it. Very refreshing on a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
The best spiced cider i have EVER had. I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. Even my husband who rarely likes hot drinks raved about this one. Great family friendly festive drink and smells wonderful too. I made it in the crock pot and let simmer all throughout the meal, worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I served this last week at my mother's book club, and it was a Huge Success. We had 11 guests here for about an hour and a half, and would you believe it, there was not a drop left. They commented that it was just right - unlike the too-sweet warm punches they are so often served. Very fragrant and easy to do. The one change I made was using cran-raspberry instead of straight cranberry. As for method, I used a slotted spoon to remove the bits from the cider when we were ready to serve, but next time will use a fine mesh sieve. Otherwise the cloves are too hard to extract. Really a lovely recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluestocking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This recipe is Fabulous! I made this for friends last night and everyone loved it. I have to admit that played a bit loose with the ingredients (didn't measure the cranberry juice, forgot the lemon), and it still was WONDERFUL. I plan on making this all winter long! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moxie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
A great recipe. i make it every year at christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
This was good - my sister-in-law almost polished it off by herself! I thought it was just a bit on the sweet side. Maybe b/c I couldn't find straight cranberry juice (do they even make that?) so I used the cranberry juice "cocktail" by Ocean Spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Cranberry Sangria

A spiced Cranberry Sangria is perfect for any fall or winter holiday celebration.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States