Hot Spiced Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
so easy and very flavorful. I love this during the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was really great, but the second time I made it I left out the sugar, because with it its is too sweet...and with out it, its perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy bakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This has to be the best spiced cider recipe I have ever tasted. Made it in the slow cooker instead of a coffee maker. I didn't have any whole spices, but the ground ones still worked well. Tied them all up in a coffee filter. Made this for Christmas, and it was gone before dinner. A keeper. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bald Knob, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This was my first attempt at spiced cider and it turned out fabulous. I followed the recipe as stated but I did not use the coffee pot. I put the brown sugar and cider in a pan and heated it to boiling to dissolve the sugar completely. I poured this into my crockpot. I tied the spices in a coffee filter as others have suggested and put that along with sliced oranges in the cider. I turned it to warm about 2 hours before my guests arrived and it was perfect. I kept the spices and fruit in the cider all evening and I thought the flavor got better and better. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Delicious! Altered recipe a bit so I could cook it in the crock pot... Added orange juice because that's how I've always had it. Got many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was delicious! I skipped the brown sugar and it was still sweet enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I made this three times in a crockpot, and the first time it was delicious. The second and third times it was undrinkable - be careful with the spices that you don't add too much because it will quickly overwhelm and ruin your cider (at least in a crockpot; I don't know about through a coffee maker). Making some more tonight and will follow the recipe exactly. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Good, But I will keep looking for something with a bit more spice. I make it alot actually, because its easy. I make it differnt than the instructions imply and I am assuming that it would taste better if I had a coffee maker or a slow cooker, so to compromise, I make it stove top in my teapot with a giant tea bag and bring it to a boil. It is a quick, easy tasty drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aladyinredpolish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I hosted a Christmas party last night and this was a hit. I made it per the directions in a slow cooker. I bought the least expensive unsweetened cider (in the juice isle). At first, I did not use the brown sugar per others suggestions after tasting, I deemed it needed it. I have a feeling had I purchased the cold cider for twice the price I would not have needed the sugar. Save yourself the money and buy the inexpensive/unsweetened and add the sugar. FINALLY and this is key have a bottle of BUTTERSCOTCH SNCHAPPS on hand. Guests can add a shot per cup...this was a HUGE HIT! At the end of the evening I poured the remainder back in the jug to use again tonight (Christmas Eve) and I will be certain to add the schnapps to my cup! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kdayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Really, really, really good. The reason I gave this 4 stars is b/c I significantly changed the way it is made. I heated it on the stove until it was hot but not boiling then simmered it for 30 minutes. I took the suggestions of others and used a tied off coffee filter for the spices (but not the brown sugar). I had clementines and no oranges so I used 2 of those. My husband and I both thought this was absolutely delicious. In fact, I am going to make some more now - perfect remedy on a day when the wind chill is -zero!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States