Hot Spiced Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I have been making this for years! I got the recipe from the Gooseberry Patch recipe book. I can see how some might think it to be too sweet but you can easily dilute it with more cider. I think it is perfect. Just be sure to run clear water through your coffee pot a couple times afterwards to clean it out. Happy Holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
The cider turned out great. Everyone liked it. But DO NOT use a coffee maker! The first time I used it, the cider went through great. The second time through, it clogged up and started smoking. Almost caught fire! The maintenance man at work was nice enough to take it all apart and fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This was so good! I made it on the stove top. I put all of the spices in a cheese cloth and floated the oranges and cinnamon sticks. I also put in a few extra cinnamon sticks. This was sooooo good! I simmered it on low for 4 or so hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Very yummy. I like to tie sugar and spices in cheese cloth then put it into my crock pot, then I add cider that has already been warmed on the stove. It makes the house smell wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
FANTASTIC!!!! It was most definately a big hit. We had extra cider in the fridge so we decided to make this completly last minute for Thanksgiving. Since our coffee pot recently died, we made this on the stovetop and it worked just fine. I also had to substitute ground cinnamon and ground allspice since that is all we had on hand. And then we just lined a strainer with a coffee filter and strained it through that before serving. It was still completely FABULOUS!!! We're making it again for our upcoming holiday party. I'm so glad i finally found a good spiced cider recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This stuff is fantastic! Take it from an old NAVY man who knows his drinks, it don't come much better than this on a cold winters evening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Fabulous! Tasty and easy. I did it in the coffee maker and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poway, California, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This is so good!. Made it for a church function and had to make it again because once people discovered it, it went fast. Very comforting and soothing. Perfect drink for cold weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Do yourself a favor and omit the brown sugar from this recipe. I have a sweet tooth, but the sugar in this cider is unnecessary. It left a film on my teeth I can't get off even after brushing twice! That said, the spices and flavor of the cider were wonderful. I didn't have any problems with my coffee maker, either. Although, I think it would be easier to do as others suggested and make it on the stovetop or slow cooker. I love the orange in it. Will make again with no added sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
292 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving. It was a big hit! Super easy. I used ground allspice because I couldn't find whole allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rosemead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States