Hot Spiced Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This hit the spot on Christmas morning. We wanted something warm, sweet and different (to us anyway) to go with our coffee and settled on this. It seemed a bit strange to put all that stuff in our coffee pot but it worked like a charm. We used most of a two-quart bottle of cider right away and wound up going through twice that. Will be making again for certain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luis Bueno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I made this for the large Thanksgiving gathering and it got rave reviews! I couldn't find cider, so I used juice instead. I made it in the crock pot and it simmered for several hours making the house smell terrific! I am making it again for our Christmas celebration tonight. Thanks for this recipe, I have doubled it both times with none left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This recipe ROCKED! None of the stores had apple cider in stock so I ended up with regular apple juice. I heard it was a little on the sweet side so I doubled the spices, added another quart of apple juice (about half a bottle), but kept the brown sugar (and orange, cut up into 6ths to fit better into the filter basket) the same. My coffee maker only makes 12 "cups" of coffee at a time, so I just filled it up, emptied it into a carafe, then refilled the reservoir with the remaining apple juice. BTW, even with my additional apple juice, this recipe barely satisfied 6 people (there were lots of seconds and thirds...). I had to make another batch to keep them happy. **BE AWARE!** This has the potential to CLOG your coffeemaker if you let it sit overnight without cleaning it! After your last brewing, dump the cider into a carafe or other storage vessel and run hot water or vinegar through your coffee maker IMMEDIATELY! It may take a few runs for the water to run clear, but it's better than replacing your coffee maker or giving this AMAZING recipe less than its deserved 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stareynoso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Very yummy, so so good on a frigid night. For some reason I couldn't find apple cider in the store, so I used fresh-pressed apple juice. Other than that had all the same ingredients, put it all in a slow cooker on low for a few hours. Still good when warmed up the next day. I didn't have a problem with it ending up too strong, I left all of the spices and orange pieces in there the whole time and it was just right (although maybe a tad on the sweet side, probably doesn't need that much sugar for my taste). Thank you so much for such a comforting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by big_al_728

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I ended up running equal parts of apple juice and pineapple juice through the coffee pot, then keeping the cider warm in the crock pot during an open house at work. It was a big hit. It seemed like the spices were not quite strong enough after running it through the coffee pot, so I kept a tablespoon each of the allspice & cloves plus a stick of cinnamon in the crock pot for a stronger flavor. This recipe is easily tweaked to meet your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This recipe was a hit with my entire family. It was gone within a matter of a few minutes. I used coffee filters to hold the spices. Instead of quartering the orange, I added the juice to the cider and peeled the rind off and dropped it in as well. It was much easier than fitting the quarters into the coffee filters. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I served this to my friends and got back a coveted rating of "It's better than Stovetop!" Since I only had juice, not cider, I added a bit more spices, and since brown sugar is a rare commodity over here I used white, but it worked wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Big hit at the party and lots left over( I made a LOT) so I'm still enjoying it. This was a great and easy recipe. Was way too skeptical to try in the coffee pot, so I made in the crockpot with all spices in the coffee filter tied with a rubber band. Worked great. Will definitely make again, party or no party, its a keeper. p.s. added a touch of rum and re-heated after party was over for a nice hot spiked drink. Quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I was cold and looking for something different(not the usual coffee,tea,or soup)to drink to warm up. I followed the directions to a T except for the allspice.(all I had was ground so used it but only 1/2 the amount called for.)All I know is it tastes wonderful.....I'm addicted; and so is my son who doesn't like his cider warm. Thanks so much for a fabulous tasting and incredibly easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I just made this on Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit. I have tried a few recipes in the past and my whole family said this was the best one. I put it in the crockpot with everything in a coffee filter tied with a rubberband (like others suggested)and put the orange and cinnamon stick in floating around. It worked great and was delicious. If you have a white crockpot, you will really have to scrub at it to get it clean..maybe spray it with a little bit of cooking spray beforehand? Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States