Hot Spiced Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I let this simmer in the crock pot while I prepared for our Halloween party, and everyone loved it! My family doesn't usually drink apple cider, but it was gone by the end of the night. I used a bottle of store-brand apple cider from Target. Per the advice of other reviewers, I omitted the brown sugar and cloves entirely. I put the other spices in a coffee filter and sealed it with a twisty tie, and I just let the orange slices float around freely. They made it look colorful and festive. Thank you for the recipe! I'm sure I'll make this again on special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Cider is delicous BUT I do suggest if you decide to make it in a coffee pot then its worth going to your discount store and buying a cheap $10.00 pot just for this. If you make it often during the holiday season it will be worth your purchase BECAUSE it will ruin your pot. Everything tastes like cider and your cider has a slight coffe taste.....no matter how many times you run water through...before or after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
this was really good. Made it in my coffepot. only i put the sugar in the pot after it had brewed. A little vinegar water should clean up my machine easy. Definitely will keep this in my box! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gustavo'sCupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Rucker, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I make this every holiday season. I have a percolator designated to use for this recipe. The flavor of the cider is retained and will effect anything else put in it. So easy, this cider makes itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
The spice combination is good, and the idea of using the coffee maker is great too. Way too sweet though - definately too much brown sugar. If I made it again, I will cut that down to half the amount. It does make a good hot toddy though (I drank mine with some rum).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tearsfromleslie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipler, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I made this for a fun fall party and everyone LOVED it. I only put 2 tablespoons of brown sugar in it and I made it in my coffee pot. It was quick and easy. Just be sure to immediatly run water through your coffee pot several times afterward. It also made my house smell delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
My best friend and I agreed, I am making this when we are sick with sore throats. It's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AspirationchaseR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I LOVE this cider recipe. This is my favorite and I made it SO many times over the holidays. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I skip on the brown sugar, salt, and orange. I sub whole allspice for ground, cinnamon stick for ground cinnamon, and use apple juice. I'm usually the only one who wants any so I make it 1 cup at a time and "wing it" on the measurements. I strain out the clove and "floaties" from the other spices. It makes a tasty hot treat on a cold Colorado winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoneSideways

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
It was okay, nothing real special though. Followed the directions exactly, except that I had to use a slow cooker which may have had an effect on the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States