Hot Spiced Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
My hubby made this mix in big batches one year except we used dried orange peel, and added star anise. We made up packages of the mix added a couple of mugs and put it in a basket for neighbours gifts. The smell in the house while it simmers is so homey and comforting. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is soooo good! Totally omitted the brown sugar. Would probably be over kill. We made this in the crockpot, bundled up the oranges and the spices in coffee filters and let them float in the cider that way. After a few hours we removed them and let the cider continue cooking for a few more hours. It was outstanding. I put it back into the cider container and stored it in the fridge afterwards. Now we heat it up as we go. Everyone was "ooo" and "aahh" over this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This is a great and easy recipe. Cut the brown sugar to 2 T. and I didn't have cinnamon sticks so I added a t. of ground cinnamon into the cider before pouring through the coffee maker (it wouldn't go through the filter on the first batch where I put it in the basket). No oranges either, so added 2 T. lemon juice to give it a zing and it was perfect - just like grandma's spiced tea:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made this cider for our Halloween Bonfire. It had great flavor and was easy to make, but it killed my coffee maker. Will try again using the stovetop method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Made this after dinner on Thanksgiving and what a treat! Decided to just make this on the stove. We used a plastic type coffee filter we found and filled it with all of the spices. We placed the basket in the pot with the cider and orange wedges. The only change we made was to cut the brown sugar by half. The result was DELICIOUS! It was sweet but not too sweet with just the right amount of spices. We have never had spiced cider before but this will not be the last time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I made this for my works Thanksgiving pot lunch. I placed all the ingredients directly into the slow cooker; then placed on low to heat overnight. When I brought it into work, I just turned it to warm for the day. I have received many rave reviews and many asking for copies of the recipe. I will defiantly be making this again. :) Very EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This one was a big hit at our Halloween party. I left out the brown sugar. THe second batch I made I cut back on the salt but that may have something to do with the cider I picked to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Travelers Rest, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
i have 4 kids and two of them have winter birthdays, i make this recipe before the party starts, pop it into my slow cooker and let the aroma set the mood for the party, it is ALWAYS a hit with the adults and kids and helps me keep my "martha" image without killing my timing SO SIMPLE yet SO CLASSY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA_LUSHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States