Hot Spiced Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Really, really, really good. The reason I gave this 4 stars is b/c I significantly changed the way it is made. I heated it on the stove until it was hot but not boiling then simmered it for 30 minutes. I took the suggestions of others and used a tied off coffee filter for the spices (but not the brown sugar). I had clementines and no oranges so I used 2 of those. My husband and I both thought this was absolutely delicious. In fact, I am going to make some more now - perfect remedy on a day when the wind chill is -zero!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
DELICIOUS! I used ground spices and put it on my stovetop on low - easy and fantastic. yum yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I used only 1 Tbsp brown sugar. Took a coffee filter and put the cloves and allspice in it, then tied with a twist. Used the crockpot, added the remaining ingredients to it and cooked on high for 1 hour; then turned to low 1 hour. Spiked it with Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum! EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I just made this for a Christmas party-- Everyone raved about it--It was delish! I just threw everything in a crock-pot (not coffee filter or anything) and let it simmer--it was delicious and smelled like heaven! (and so easy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christy
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Made my whole house smell WONDERFUL!! It tastes delicous also! So easy to make. I made this on the stove over medium heat for a couple hours, wrapped all the spices in a coffee filter and tied it with a twist tie, and just let the cinnamon stick and oranges float in the cider. Abosolutely wonder. I had made a precious apple cider recipe and it tasted like theraflu, so i was hesitant to make this, but glad i did! Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
My hubby made this mix in big batches one year except we used dried orange peel, and added star anise. We made up packages of the mix added a couple of mugs and put it in a basket for neighbours gifts. The smell in the house while it simmers is so homey and comforting. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is soooo good! Totally omitted the brown sugar. Would probably be over kill. We made this in the crockpot, bundled up the oranges and the spices in coffee filters and let them float in the cider that way. After a few hours we removed them and let the cider continue cooking for a few more hours. It was outstanding. I put it back into the cider container and stored it in the fridge afterwards. Now we heat it up as we go. Everyone was "ooo" and "aahh" over this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This is a great and easy recipe. Cut the brown sugar to 2 T. and I didn't have cinnamon sticks so I added a t. of ground cinnamon into the cider before pouring through the coffee maker (it wouldn't go through the filter on the first batch where I put it in the basket). No oranges either, so added 2 T. lemon juice to give it a zing and it was perfect - just like grandma's spiced tea:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made this cider for our Halloween Bonfire. It had great flavor and was easy to make, but it killed my coffee maker. Will try again using the stovetop method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Made this after dinner on Thanksgiving and what a treat! Decided to just make this on the stove. We used a plastic type coffee filter we found and filled it with all of the spices. We placed the basket in the pot with the cider and orange wedges. The only change we made was to cut the brown sugar by half. The result was DELICIOUS! It was sweet but not too sweet with just the right amount of spices. We have never had spiced cider before but this will not be the last time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States