Hot Spiced Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Used in the coffee pot, after cleaning it out, and it worked fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I received many compliments on this cider BUT it was not by following the exact recipe. I read many of the reviews and recommendations prior to making my first cider. I had a goal in mind, a warm, sweet (but not overwhelmingly so) mulled cider with flavourful and aromatic spices and orange undertones. While this goal wasn't exactly reached, people were still very complimentary and enjoyed seconds, thirds, and sevenths of the end product. Because I was making 1 gallon of cider, I doubled the recipe. I began by pouring the purchased 1 gallon cider into a nonstick stock pot, adding a thickly slicing orange (4 slices with seeds removed) and brought to the beginnings of a boil (which was then quickly reducing to simmer). While the cider was heating to a boil, I added the spices into a cheese cloth (except ground nutmeg and salt which were added directly). I added the spices per the adjusted ratio for increased servings to the pot; the only spice not added at ratio was the salt (I added half of what was called for, for fear of a salty brew). As the spices simmered, I tasted the cider. I had not yet added sugar, because some reviewers mentioned that it became too sweet. This recipe NEEDS sugar, if using a standard purchased cider (which is not overly sweetened to begin with). I noticed in my sampling though, that a tartness lingered. I believed it to be due to the orange, so I removed the slices after about 20-30 minutes of simmering. I proceeded to add brown sugar and Splenda unt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Great recipe. I omitted the coffee pot and brown sugar (put in a crock) I doubled the receipt and used a gal of apple cider- ground spices and and I sliced the washed orange into disc. Once the crock gets hot, stir to mix the spices. I made it for office and it drew people in as it smelled wonderful. lots of people wanted the recipe. yummm not one drop left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I used lemon instead of orange, it came together very perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
The recipe is yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This calls for far too much spice. It was overpowering and no one could drink it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Lots of potential, but like most others here I varied a few things. I also cooked this in a slow cooker on high, which took longer than I had expected, but the final result was fantastic. Below are my changes. 1.) Remove all of the sugar 2.) 1/2 Tsp of cloves instead of the full tsp 3.) Blood orange instead of a regular orange, with a slightly grated peel, quartered and tossed in. I added all of the ingredients directly instead of attempting to filter, and fished them out at the end. Was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I only had ground seasonings on hand, but it still tasted great! My family loved it for holiday parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I used this recipe to add some spice to my homebrewed cider and it worked a treat - personally I dropped the salt and upped the allspice a little. Dont be afraid to experiment with each batch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Very yummy, but omit the brown sugar. It's sweet enough without it. I did double the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States