Hot Spiced Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I actually made this in a slow cooker while I was preparing other dishes for a party. Put all the ingredients in a cheesecloth (thick paper towels to make two sacks would work just fine)and tie it with kitchen twine. This method keeps you from having to fish around the ingredients when it is ready to serve. Slow cook on low for about 4 hours, stirring occasionally. This was so easy to make and the aroma that fills your home while it's cooking is just divine! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
517 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mollygirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Do yourself a favor and omit the brown sugar from this recipe. I have a sweet tooth, but the sugar in this cider is unnecessary. It left a film on my teeth I can't get off even after brushing twice! That said, the spices and flavor of the cider were wonderful. I didn't have any problems with my coffee maker, either. Although, I think it would be easier to do as others suggested and make it on the stovetop or slow cooker. I love the orange in it. Will make again with no added sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
292 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
I made this recipe in a larg pot on the stove and skipped the step of putting everything throught the coffee maker. I wish I hadn't skipped that step. It smelled wonderful while on the stove, and the first few cups were good (or so I was told) but when I finally had a chance to get a cup, it had a very strong flavor. Maybe the cloves or one of the other spices, but I think if I would have removed all of the spices from the pot after the first 20 minutes, then it would have just kept warm and the flavor wouldn't have been so strong. I served mine with a dollop of whipped cream on top of each mug. I will make again, but follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
Very good! I made it in the crock pot using a coffee filter and a piece of ribbon to keep the spices in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
What is wrong with my family? Nobody wanted to even try this unbelievable concoction. Great! All the more for me. How can one drink be refreshing, comforting, spicy, and sweet at the same time? Somehow, Hot Spiced Cider gits er' done. This will be traditional Christmas fare for me. I can see myself rounding up the ingredients for this recipe whenever the snow starts to fly. I used my slow cooker. I wrapped the spices in a coffee filter and tied it with a rubberband. I turned the slow cooker to the "high" setting until it was hot enough, then lowered it to "warm." I don't particularly enjoy the clove flavor which can be somewhat dominant, so I may reduce or eliminate that spice the next time around. Still wonderful though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Excellent! I love apple cider and this recipe was really easy to make and really good. I left out the allspice because I don't have any on hand, and also made it on the stove top instead of the coffee maker. I just put all the spices in a tea strainer and that worked fine. I like that I can just put this back in the apple cider jug and reheat it as we go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
WAY too sweet as written... be sure to decrease the amount of sugar. Many people dumped their servings at a recent get together. I made it in the crockpot and will likely try it again with no sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
This was very easy, and very good. I did make this in my coffee maker the first time, and initially thought it worked fine, until my husband tried to use the machine to make coffee. It was clogged with what we believed to be burnt sugar, and he took it apart and spent a lot of time cleaning it before it finally worked again. The next time I made it in a big pot, and that worked fine. I tied the spices up inside a coffee filter. I didn't end up using a whole orange (used about half of a huge one), and used ground allspice rather than whole, but followed the recipe other than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
Yum! I used less brown sugar (about 1 TBSP less) and nearly 12 cups of apple cider because we don't like things too sweet, and it was great. We had a little left over, so the next day I warmed up 8 oz. and poured it over a green tea bag. I never enjoyed green tea so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
VERY popular recipe for us! Like others, I opted for a slow cooker instead of the coffe maker. Just tossed everything in, set it on low, and let it warm for a few hours. I cut the brown sugar in half, as I thought it would have enough flavor without more sugar. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States