Hot Spiced Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was a big hit at Thanksgiving. I threw everything in my crockpot so it was ready when I needed it. However, I left the oranges in after I served it up & it got very bitter from the rinds/peel so I didn't have any leftovers! Next time I must remember to take out the oranges! Dee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Very good and very easy. Doubled everything but the sugar (kept it 1/4 cup). Heated it to boiling on the stove to thoroughly dissolve the sugar, then let it heat in the slow cooker. As others have suggested, I put the spices in a coffee filter, closed up with a twist tie. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Extremely easy and yummy! I'm a real estate broker & serve this at virtually ALL of my fall open houses. I use 3 quarts of apple juice instead of apple cider (it's easier to find & usually cheaper). I usually start it on the stove and then transfer it to the Crock Pot. If I don't have the whole spices on hand, I just use the ground spices & have not noticed a bit of difference in the taste. People rave about this cider. Is definitely a recipe to keep long-term.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I put this in a pot on the stove and simmered it for a few hours before my party. Best thing for a cold winter day. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was a huge hit at my autumn get-together, will be making it again soon! Yum! :-) Notes: *This recipe worked great in a stock pot on the stove. Only needed about 30 minutes to simmer and we kept adding juice to the concentrate over the course of the evening. *We skimped on buying new spices and just used ground versions of each. When doing this again, I'll put the spices in a cheesecloth or the coffee filter that others have suggested, since straining the cider wasn't that much fun. *We skipped the cinnamon sticks added a healthy dose of ground cinnamon to the recipe and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I enjoyed this cider, but next time I'll probably try it in a crock pot or stovetop
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjamison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Used a crock pot and borrowed another reviewer's suggestion to bundle the spices in a coffee filter secured with a rubberband. It was delicious, definitely the recipe I'll be using from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I make this in a crock pot also. We love to take it in a large thermos bottle along with some ginger cookies when we go looking for our Christmas tree. It's a warm and fuzzy treat for the tummy on these cold and rainy autumn days! The aroma wafting through the house will make you crazy for a big mug of a fantastic hot cider!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I made this cider in a crockpot. I doubled the amount of everything except the sugar and i thought it was perfect! I did not have cinnamon sticks so i used ground cinnamon in its place-guessed at the amount. I turned the crockpot on high and let it heat for approximately 3-3 1/2 hours. This will be a regular for my family this fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I made this in the crockpot. It wasn't the best cider ever but it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States