Hot Spiced Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was a huge hit at my autumn get-together, will be making it again soon! Yum! :-) Notes: *This recipe worked great in a stock pot on the stove. Only needed about 30 minutes to simmer and we kept adding juice to the concentrate over the course of the evening. *We skimped on buying new spices and just used ground versions of each. When doing this again, I'll put the spices in a cheesecloth or the coffee filter that others have suggested, since straining the cider wasn't that much fun. *We skipped the cinnamon sticks added a healthy dose of ground cinnamon to the recipe and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I enjoyed this cider, but next time I'll probably try it in a crock pot or stovetop
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjamison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Used a crock pot and borrowed another reviewer's suggestion to bundle the spices in a coffee filter secured with a rubberband. It was delicious, definitely the recipe I'll be using from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I make this in a crock pot also. We love to take it in a large thermos bottle along with some ginger cookies when we go looking for our Christmas tree. It's a warm and fuzzy treat for the tummy on these cold and rainy autumn days! The aroma wafting through the house will make you crazy for a big mug of a fantastic hot cider!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I made this cider in a crockpot. I doubled the amount of everything except the sugar and i thought it was perfect! I did not have cinnamon sticks so i used ground cinnamon in its place-guessed at the amount. I turned the crockpot on high and let it heat for approximately 3-3 1/2 hours. This will be a regular for my family this fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I made this in the crockpot. It wasn't the best cider ever but it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
so easy and very flavorful. I love this during the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was really great, but the second time I made it I left out the sugar, because with it its is too sweet...and with out it, its perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy bakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This has to be the best spiced cider recipe I have ever tasted. Made it in the slow cooker instead of a coffee maker. I didn't have any whole spices, but the ground ones still worked well. Tied them all up in a coffee filter. Made this for Christmas, and it was gone before dinner. A keeper. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bald Knob, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This was my first attempt at spiced cider and it turned out fabulous. I followed the recipe as stated but I did not use the coffee pot. I put the brown sugar and cider in a pan and heated it to boiling to dissolve the sugar completely. I poured this into my crockpot. I tied the spices in a coffee filter as others have suggested and put that along with sliced oranges in the cider. I turned it to warm about 2 hours before my guests arrived and it was perfect. I kept the spices and fruit in the cider all evening and I thought the flavor got better and better. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States