Hot Spiced Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I made this spiced cider for my daughter's birthday. Everyone loved it! I thought it was a little sweet, and I love sweet drinks, but you could easily lessen the amount of sugar. I'll certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Really fantastic. I just may brew a pot at work :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
My coffee system doesn't allow for brewing a pot of coffee, so I resorted to the slow cooker method, forgoing the ground nutmeg as I used whole spices instead: cinnamon sticks, whole allspice, cardamom pods, star anise and a clove-studded orange. Left to simmer a while, the cider does become sweeter and more concentrated, so it's best to add brown sugar (if any is needed) before serving. Also, I've found that adding some brewed cinnamon-flavored tea helps dilute the cider should it become too sweet without having to add more cider. Great warming beverage, especially while taking breaks from raking leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I think it may be best to add the brown sugar at the end only if needed. I also think that the cider you use makes a difference. I've made this before and it was wonderful (using half the sugar). But this batch was way too sweet even with the reduced amount of brown sugar. In an attempt to save the batch, I added the juice of 3 lemons...and it worked! In fact, I may continue to add a little lemon juice to future cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I love this recipe! The aroma is wonderful, it calls for cozy pj's on a snowy night by the fireplace! Or a festive hot drink at a holiday bash, very versatile. I use an electric coffee percolator and just put the ingredients in the metal basket. It works perfect! No messy coffee pot to have to clean up or degunk. The whole spices stay in the basket and never float around in the drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I did not care for the orange. It gave the cider a strange taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCDaisy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
We made this in a crockpot and drained it before serving and then put it back in the crockpot to keep it warm. It was incredibly popular and the orange slices were so yummy that instead of throwing them out we added them to our mugs. There's no cider where we live so I had to make it with 100% apple juice and it was still amazing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very awesome! I did my cider in a slow cooker with the spices in a coffee filter hanging in from the edge. Added cinnamon sticks and they were a hit with my Christmas party! The orange was only slightly overpowering for me, but I'm not a huge fan of oranges and everyone else loved it :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I had to double all the spices except the orange to make the flavour what we wanted it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
We loved this! I used a crockpot to warm the cider and wrapped the ingredients in cheese cloth instead of placing in a coffee pot. Worked great and I plan on making it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States