Hot Spiced Christmas Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I have never made this and I am not much of a wine drinker but my fiance and our friends seem to like it. What type of red wine and white wine... I feel as if this is a simple question but I just do not know anything about wine. 3 Stars because the recipe sounds delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Yum!! The hit of the party! My modifications were 1/2tsp of ground ginger, Liberty Creek Cabernet 1.5L wine for the red wine $8, and St. Chateau Riesling for the white wine $10. I am going to keep this stocked all winter long! Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I made this for a holiday party a couple of years ago and it was a huge hit! Sadly I lost the recipe and have been searching for it for years! I should've known that I had found it here. Going to make this for a housewarming party next week. It's a fantastic winter drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
It is not bad but for my taste too strong.I had a few friends over that night and they all found it too strong,so in the next batch I added 2 cups of boiled water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Fantastic!! Four of us had a few servings each, and then it finished. Used a lot more sugar than indicated, almost a whole cup, and used two huge oranges. Since I let it simmer for almost two hours, I had to remove the orange peels from the bottom of the pot-it got a little bitter. Overall very good, a very rich drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This stuff is dangerously good. I used whole cloves and 1/3 c of honey instead of brown sugar, but otherwise kept it the same. I put it in our 3 qt slow cooker on high at about 11 am and it was ready for our guests' arrival at 1 pm. Make sure not to let it cook too long or at least take the cloves out after a few hours, as the they will infuse too much and numb your tongue. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Hot Spiced Christmas Wine I've made spiced mulled wine for years, and everybody always wants me to make some for them for Christmas to take home. I make mine with Sangria; a red Port; cinnamon; cardomom; nutmeg; cloves; brown sugar; and fresh cut slices of oranges and lemons. I don't use exact measurements, but make it 'to taste'. I can only suggest readers do the same, as not everyone likes the same amount of this or that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made this for thanksgiving and it turned out very good. It was absolutely terrific served with brandy. I hope to make it a holiday favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
It was the Christmas party favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made this recipe for my family today for Christmas Eve. They loved it! Though I'm not a wine drinker, I liked it, too. I would recommend adding a dash of nutmeg (no more than 1/4 tsp.), and letting it sit on low heat for 2 or 3 hours, and I added probably close to 3/4 cup brown sugar. It was a very sweet, delicious wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States