Hot Spiced Christmas Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This stuff is dangerously good. I used whole cloves and 1/3 c of honey instead of brown sugar, but otherwise kept it the same. I put it in our 3 qt slow cooker on high at about 11 am and it was ready for our guests' arrival at 1 pm. Make sure not to let it cook too long or at least take the cloves out after a few hours, as the they will infuse too much and numb your tongue. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Hot Spiced Christmas Wine I've made spiced mulled wine for years, and everybody always wants me to make some for them for Christmas to take home. I make mine with Sangria; a red Port; cinnamon; cardomom; nutmeg; cloves; brown sugar; and fresh cut slices of oranges and lemons. I don't use exact measurements, but make it 'to taste'. I can only suggest readers do the same, as not everyone likes the same amount of this or that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made this for thanksgiving and it turned out very good. It was absolutely terrific served with brandy. I hope to make it a holiday favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
It was the Christmas party favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made this recipe for my family today for Christmas Eve. They loved it! Though I'm not a wine drinker, I liked it, too. I would recommend adding a dash of nutmeg (no more than 1/4 tsp.), and letting it sit on low heat for 2 or 3 hours, and I added probably close to 3/4 cup brown sugar. It was a very sweet, delicious wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made this wine and added a bit more brown sugar and grand marnier instead of brandy...sadly it came out tasting too much like ginger! If I decide to make it again I am thinking of just cutting the ginger down to only 1 inch piece, and adding more sugar to sweeten the drink up. I don't know what wines everyone used in this recipe, I used Shiraz and Chardonnay, perhaps I should use sweeter wines? I don't know what I did, but the drink is too "tangy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saucylili

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
A first-time experience for me, this was a great introduction to hot spice wine. The next time I make it (and there WILL be a next time!??), I'm going to cut the ginger by a third and add some white sugar to the brown, to balance out the flavors. And I used Slenda brown sugar substitute and it was great - I may do so with the white as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very nice recipe. BTW - I have prepared this several times with different proportions of red:white wine, and they all turned out interesting. Maybe I just like wine any which way :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is great for a chilly night. I had some cherry wine so used that as one of the reds and it worked perfectly. Like others, I just used crushed ginger (about 1/4 teaspoon) and orange juice (about 1 cup). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I have quite a few different spiced wine/mulled wine recipes and this one is great. Personally, I like it better than with the honey. Honey can make the wine too sweet for me. This is simple and perfect. I used all red wine though and Grand Marnier instead of brandy. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States