Hot Spiced Christmas Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I have never made this and I am not much of a wine drinker but my fiance and our friends seem to like it. What type of red wine and white wine... I feel as if this is a simple question but I just do not know anything about wine. 3 Stars because the recipe sounds delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Yum!! The hit of the party! My modifications were 1/2tsp of ground ginger, Liberty Creek Cabernet 1.5L wine for the red wine $8, and St. Chateau Riesling for the white wine $10. I am going to keep this stocked all winter long! Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I made this for a holiday party a couple of years ago and it was a huge hit! Sadly I lost the recipe and have been searching for it for years! I should've known that I had found it here. Going to make this for a housewarming party next week. It's a fantastic winter drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
It is not bad but for my taste too strong.I had a few friends over that night and they all found it too strong,so in the next batch I added 2 cups of boiled water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Fantastic!! Four of us had a few servings each, and then it finished. Used a lot more sugar than indicated, almost a whole cup, and used two huge oranges. Since I let it simmer for almost two hours, I had to remove the orange peels from the bottom of the pot-it got a little bitter. Overall very good, a very rich drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This stuff is dangerously good. I used whole cloves and 1/3 c of honey instead of brown sugar, but otherwise kept it the same. I put it in our 3 qt slow cooker on high at about 11 am and it was ready for our guests' arrival at 1 pm. Make sure not to let it cook too long or at least take the cloves out after a few hours, as the they will infuse too much and numb your tongue. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Hot Spiced Christmas Wine I've made spiced mulled wine for years, and everybody always wants me to make some for them for Christmas to take home. I make mine with Sangria; a red Port; cinnamon; cardomom; nutmeg; cloves; brown sugar; and fresh cut slices of oranges and lemons. I don't use exact measurements, but make it 'to taste'. I can only suggest readers do the same, as not everyone likes the same amount of this or that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made this for thanksgiving and it turned out very good. It was absolutely terrific served with brandy. I hope to make it a holiday favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
It was the Christmas party favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made this recipe for my family today for Christmas Eve. They loved it! Though I'm not a wine drinker, I liked it, too. I would recommend adding a dash of nutmeg (no more than 1/4 tsp.), and letting it sit on low heat for 2 or 3 hours, and I added probably close to 3/4 cup brown sugar. It was a very sweet, delicious wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States