Hot Seafood Ramekins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
This was really wonderful. Having said that, I made a few changes partly based on previous feedback. I cut the parsley in half, used 3/4 cup of mayo instead of a full cup (and used a low-fat version), and added 1/3 cup shredded swiss cheese to the mixture. It's not that I felt there would be too much mayo -- it's just that I wanted to add the swiss and, knowing it would melt, I had to cut back on something to reduce the grease and not overpowering the seafood completely. Thank you for an inspiring idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Excellent! I served this as an appetizer for a dinner, I did make a few changes: used low-fat mayo to help cut the fat (you honestly won't miss the fat), added some finely minced garlic to the crab and mixed in some Parmesan cheese with the bread crumbs. Made lemon butter for people to drizzle over their own servings. Everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
yum! I don't have ramekins, so i wrapped seafood mixture in one layer of hungry-man biscuit dough. It was a party hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This recipe is great and easy to make. I tried it and I'm going to make it for Christmas dinner for my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
We enjoyed these. I am not big on mayo so I was a little worried after reading the reviews but I thought it was just the right amount. The only reason I am not giving it a 5 is that I added old bay and cayenne due to previous reviewers saying it was bland and I if I hadn't added them, I would have to agree. It was an easy fix though and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
this was just ok,it really needs seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
YUMMY! EVERYONE THINKS I MUST HAVE SPENT A LOT OF TIME MAKING THESE! FOOLS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
The idea is there, but the flavor is not. The most noticeable problem was that it was way too heavy on the breadcrumbs. Use about 1/4 cup breadcrumbs so that you can actually taste the rest of the stuff in there. The 1/2 parsley is good if you're using fresh. Keep it to about 2 tablespoons if you're using the dried stuff. Add 3 cloves minced garlic and about 1 tablespoon oregano. Add black pepper and red pepper flakes to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Very good. I think it needs more seasoning but otherwise very good and easy to make. I used canned crab, Geisha brand, and I did reduce the mayo to 3/4 cup and used a light mayo. I also only used one stalk of celery since I don't normally like it cooked but it did keep its crispness so I was happy. I think next time I will try adding some cheese on top instead of the bread crumbs. One other thing I did was I used homemade Garlic croutons and ground them up to make bread crumbs. I will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Delicious. Spread it over some sole filets and baked...yum. I added a bit of lemon juice and Old Bay Seasoning to the mixture. Instead of the shrimp/crab mix I just used a package of imitation lobster. I make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Constable, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States