Hot Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Made this with cream of celery instead of mushroom, and it was, in my husband's words, "Awesome." Very simple and easy to make. It was a little soupy. Maybe next time I may use cooked rice and omit the can of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I used Italian Sweet Sausage (it was what I had), I added mushrooms (since I had them on hand) and totally blanked on the bell peppers (DOH!). But even with those modifications, it came out really well! I think the bell peppers would have added a nice taste/texture, but I forgot to grab them when I got out all my veggies to cut. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura N.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This was AMAZING. If I could give it 100 stars I would. I just got the Jimmy Dean's hot pork sausage to save money and it was sooooo good. I didn't change anything, made it exactly as was. I thought it strange it didn't have any seasoning, however the spice from the sausage really brought all the flavors together in an amazing way. I loved how this recipie did not include cheese, it seems like a lot of casseroles do. We ate the left overs for 4 days after and each day the flavors just got better and better! Am making this again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Made this tonight for dinner my husband loved it, I liked it.. he loves casseroles! After reading some of the other reviews this is what I came up with.. 2 1/2 cups pasta (egg noodles) instead of rice 1 lb hot italian sausage crumbled seasoned sausage with: garlic powder, italian bread crumbs, oregano & adobo to taste 1 can cream of chicken soup 1 can cream of mushroom soup 2 small green peppers 1 medium onion put all into a casserole dish and sprinkled some bread crumbs on top heated all the ingredients on the stove prior to baking, bake 15 minutes at 400 degrees covered and a additional 15 minutes without the cover to brown. Came out great, like I said earlier husband loved it and I am sure I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
When I was chopping up the onion and green pepper I thought it was going to be way too overpowering, but it came out really great. I agree with the previous review that it comes out a little soupy, but the flavor is amazing without any more seasoning than what was in the sausage. This one is one we will be cooking again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
This was so easy and yummy! I made a few modifications because of what I had on hand. I had about 2-1/2 cups cooked rice, so I browned the meat and added the meat and rice to a baking dish. Then sauteed red bell peppers, onions, celery, and mushrooms. Cooked about 5 minutes then added all that to the pan too. I had 2 cans of cream of chicken soup so I added that and on can of cream of onion. I omitted the water because the rice was cooked. Then mixed everything and baked it for about an hour. Will make this again! So easy and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This is such a great and easy meal to make. My husband is not a big rice fan, so I substituted with egg noodles that I cooked before baking casserole. Only used a half can of water since noodles were already cooked. It came out great! Also added mushrooms. Just the right spiciness. My husband can' t stop raving about it. Definitely a keeper in my recipe box. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Very good. Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This was really good.My 4yr old granddaughter had 2 helpings of it so it must be good!!!I didnt cut up the sausages-just left them as whole.Added alll sorts of peppers,green,orange,red and yellow...Also didnt have cream mushroom soup so I used 3 cans of the chicken soup instead...Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
a good quick easy meal, very taste : note if you use off brand soups use less water. they are already watery thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States