Hot Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Made this with cream of celery instead of mushroom, and it was, in my husband's words, "Awesome." Very simple and easy to make. It was a little soupy. Maybe next time I may use cooked rice and omit the can of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This was AMAZING. If I could give it 100 stars I would. I just got the Jimmy Dean's hot pork sausage to save money and it was sooooo good. I didn't change anything, made it exactly as was. I thought it strange it didn't have any seasoning, however the spice from the sausage really brought all the flavors together in an amazing way. I loved how this recipie did not include cheese, it seems like a lot of casseroles do. We ate the left overs for 4 days after and each day the flavors just got better and better! Am making this again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Very good. Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
When I was chopping up the onion and green pepper I thought it was going to be way too overpowering, but it came out really great. I agree with the previous review that it comes out a little soupy, but the flavor is amazing without any more seasoning than what was in the sausage. This one is one we will be cooking again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I made this recipe with a few twists and within a week, my picky girlfriend wanted a repeat. The changes I made were to substitute the celery for 2 large carrots (chopped), added a jar of red roasted peppers, and 1 extra can of cream of mushroom soup. It's a great and fairly easy recipe to make...highly recommended. One note, the sausage can make a world of difference. The first round, the dish came out pretty spicy and second round, not so much...only change was the type of sausage used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
was amazed that this recipe was so good. It being such a simple recipe, I didnt expect to love it so much. I did omit peppers because I hate them with a passion. I didn't have celery so that had to be omitted as well. Thought my omissiond would leave the meal bland but it didnt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mctmagill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I used Italian Sweet Sausage (it was what I had), I added mushrooms (since I had them on hand) and totally blanked on the bell peppers (DOH!). But even with those modifications, it came out really well! I think the bell peppers would have added a nice taste/texture, but I forgot to grab them when I got out all my veggies to cut. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura N.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Hubby liked more than me. I did sub low fat soups so I am willing to try it again with the reg. condensed soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This is such a great and easy meal to make. My husband is not a big rice fan, so I substituted with egg noodles that I cooked before baking casserole. Only used a half can of water since noodles were already cooked. It came out great! Also added mushrooms. Just the right spiciness. My husband can' t stop raving about it. Definitely a keeper in my recipe box. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Made this tonight for dinner my husband loved it, I liked it.. he loves casseroles! After reading some of the other reviews this is what I came up with.. 2 1/2 cups pasta (egg noodles) instead of rice 1 lb hot italian sausage crumbled seasoned sausage with: garlic powder, italian bread crumbs, oregano & adobo to taste 1 can cream of chicken soup 1 can cream of mushroom soup 2 small green peppers 1 medium onion put all into a casserole dish and sprinkled some bread crumbs on top heated all the ingredients on the stove prior to baking, bake 15 minutes at 400 degrees covered and a additional 15 minutes without the cover to brown. Came out great, like I said earlier husband loved it and I am sure I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States