Hot Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Delish!! I used cream of celery instead of mushroom. I also used about 1 and 1/4 cup uncooked rice. No actual celery but about a cup of fresh broccoli! So yummy there were no left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Solch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dingmans Ferry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
i made this for bf's lunch.. i used a red bell pepper, 1/2 of an onion, and two cans of cream of mushrooms soup since that's what i had.. and maybe 1/4 of a can of water since i was worried about it being soupy.. i tried a bite and was very pleased.. bf loved it.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I love this. I make it for all my church gatherings. This time I pre cooked my rice somewhat because I use brown rice. Takes longer to cooked. So ill see how it does with the cooking time. Plus I added more bell pepper & onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I made this recipe, as is. Next time, I will use little or no water. After the 45 minutes, I uncovered the dish and it looked like a soup (smelled delicious). So, I sprinkled a little corn starch in and kept cooking uncovered for another 15 minutes. When I took it out, I let the dish sit for a few minutes and it had thickened up a little more. On the plus side, the dish was really tasty! My boyfriend said "Wow, this is delicious!" I will make this again, but with no water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alij824

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tuckerton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I took this to a covered dish dinner and it was a hit. I loved it! If you're not a fan of spicy food, try regular sausage. I made it just as the recipe reads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Absolutely floored!!! Stormy weather and didn't want to get out, so the only thing I had to cook was hot sausage. This was soooo good!! Like others, I used pasta (elbow mac) instead of rice. Didn't have cream of chicken, so I added a quarter cup of beef broth to go with the cream of mushroom (and omitted the water as suggested by others). My family doesn't like onions, so I left that out (but I did use onion powder, they never know). And as another reviewer suggested, I add some garlic. But oh my wow! Simple but delicious! After I cooked my sausage, I put it in the chopper until it was like crumbles, then baked 15 minutes covered and 15 mins more uncovered. This has got to be my favorite sausage recipe by far! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
This was so easy and yummy! I made a few modifications because of what I had on hand. I had about 2-1/2 cups cooked rice, so I browned the meat and added the meat and rice to a baking dish. Then sauteed red bell peppers, onions, celery, and mushrooms. Cooked about 5 minutes then added all that to the pan too. I had 2 cans of cream of chicken soup so I added that and on can of cream of onion. I omitted the water because the rice was cooked. Then mixed everything and baked it for about an hour. Will make this again! So easy and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
So Good!! I used one can cream of mushroom, one can cream of chicken, and one can cream of celery. I used spicy sausage and it was spicy, it really gave a good flavor to the casserole. I only had any onion, and it worked out just fine. Made it as written and was totally happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
In a pintch and short on funds to make a huge dinner this works perfectly. My husband isn't a fan of new things especially casserole's so I added cheddar cheese as a topping and he asked for seconds. Perfect go to for a busy weeknight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Great, simple casserole. Was more flavorful than I thought it would be. If it looks too soupy just leave the lid off for part of the cooking time. Delicious way to use up a green pepper. I cut down on one cream soup but kept the full can of water/milk so that is probably why it was a little runny. It thickened up after sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States