Hot Ponderosas! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Only 4 stars, although I used it as a spread and under the broiler. I adjusted the measurements to teaspoons instead of Tablespoons and it was still plenty spicy! Next time I will reduce the Red Pepper Flakes even more, sub the "Herbes De Provence" with Italian Seasoning, and increase the blue cheese as suggested by other reviewers. Thx for sharing - really fun and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
THis was just OK for us. I was expecting an explosion of flavor that I never really found. I think I may give this one more try in the oven/under the broiler instead of grilling and see if that changes my opinion. THANKS for the recipe, MCMIGUEL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Grilled bread with lots of flavor. I wanted to use up some leftover hamburger buns, so that became the bread base for these Hot Ponderosas. I mixed up all the ingredients, but omitting the cheese. I dipped the buns, both sides, into the butter mixture and then grilled one side. Once my DH grilled one side, I flipped the bread over and added the cheese and grilled the bottom side. I made 2 pieces with bleu cheese for me, and topped the others with feta cheese for the rest of the family. Served these with 'Summertime Tomato Salad' and 'Roasted Beer Butt Lime Chicken', both AR recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This was yummy! I used all of the ingredients listed, subbing a Italian seasoning for the herbes de Provence, which I did not have. I only had a little less than a 1/2 of a baguette, so I just eyeballed everything to taste, but I couldn't imaging those quantities for just 1 baguette, but that's my opinion. I cooked these under the broiler and that worked well. Loved the addition of the Worcestershire sauce, in fact, all of the flavors went together nicely! I would make this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Made these in the oven since we were without a gas/charcoal grill at our vacation location. I recommend topping with the blue cheese after you dunk them. Love the saltiness and the garlicky crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Very good flavor but a bit too potant. I would use a little bitt less garlic, butter and pepper. I still give it a 5 for the flavor. But either you have to get a lot more bread, or use less topping because its a VERY strong flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
these were good but very rich. I never thought I would say: almost too much butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daysee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I used this as a spread and broiled instead of dipping and grilling. Will add more blue cheese next time. I really liked the addition of the W sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
All I can say is awesome, awesome, awesome! My family (children included) fought over what was left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I also thought that the recipe called for way too much red pepper flakes and herbes de Provence; I just used a little of each. I made these on the Foreman grill, and they turned out well, but I wouldn't mind doing them in the oven like garlic bread. We thought this was really tasty. Thanks, McMiguel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Hot Pepper Cheese Ball on the Better Show

Watch the crew at Allrecipes make a top-rated cheese ball on the Better Show.

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States